53Carthage, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I think I have a better than average intellect, physical presence, charm, wit, etc.

I am pretty sure I have a way below average amount of baggage, drama, undue jealosy, or creepy, stalky, dangerous, whack job factor.

I do have my faults, I even know what some of them are and I work on fixing them, but I don't want to share them until you like me enough to ignore them. I'll do the same for you.

I am ironic, physical, and honest
What I’m doing with my life
I moved away from Joplin right after high school and moved back because my daughter is here. I would much rather be living near a coast, but my highest priority is to raise her into the amazing person she is becoming, so here I am and here I stay.

I am a retired Army Officer and now run a vintage and antique photography businesses. I prefer to have time over money, so I'm not a workaholic. I figured out years ago that most people, at the end of their lives, wished they had spent more time doing the things they love with the people they love than making more money.

I only get my girl every couple of weeks, and with my minimal work hours that leaves me a lot of time on my hands. I fill it with such things as friends and family, outdoor activities, photography, writing, reading, movies, etc.

The point of being on this site is that I have a desire and plenty of time for someone in my life.

Things I have done with my life are; travelled to 20 foreign countries (without a passport), spent 12 interesting years in the Army, drove around the country in an RV for a year, lived in almost every region in America, and competed in a sport at the national level for 16 years.
I’m really good at
Being a good and loyal friend.

Fitting in to almost any situation. I've lived in a hole in the ground in Saudi Arabia and a villa in Italy. I grew up farming and ranching in South Dakota and picking snails on the beach in Maine and went on to high tech environmental engineering and military communications jobs. I am very hard to fluster.

3D photography (aka stereophotography)

Creating whole worlds in my head, that I then put to paper (or, more accurately, disc)
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and my voice. I've been told all my life that I have a "radio voice".

You will either really like me or almost instantly dislike me. I leave very few people neutral. Saves a lot of time, though.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The travel adventure books of Tim Cahill and Bill Bryson. The nautical works of Patrick O'Brien. Humorists like Patrick O'Rourk.

I have varied tastes in movies; humor, sci-fi, action/adventure, and will watch almost anything in 3D.

I love series in books, movies and TV, so movie trilogies and watching good TV series from start to finish is a constant with me.

I'm a fan of classic rock, from Abba to Zeppelin. I enjoy some other styles such as classical, bluegrass, gypsy violin music, etc.

I've lived in some places with incredible food, such as the coast of Maine, the Pacific Northwest and Naples, Italy, each for a couple years, so I love Italian, sushi and seafood the best, but also home cooking, Tex-Mex, various asian styles, cajun, etc.
Six things I could never do without
My litttle girl, the rest of my family, a few good friends, some creative outlet, the great outdoors and books.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Publising a line of 3D Photo Web Comics.

Riding the human-powered amphibious vehicle I invented and co-built across the U.S.

Building other strange craft; human or solar powered or a hybrid of both.

The plan or lack of plan for the universe and our sticky little corner of it.

The social contract and whether it needs an religous underpinning or if it can stand on it's own.

Whether it is better to believe a big thing or to know a small thing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working. But on Monday morning I'm not. I work for myself, so I follow my own schedule. I'm a bit of a night owl, so I often start work late in the evening and work til 2 in the morning. I'll work in my PJ's over coffee in the morning before heading out to do something fun during the day.

Every other Friday, though, I have my girl, so it's spent watching a Disney movie while we have dinner and planning our big day, which is Saturday. She and I kayak, snorkel, bike, rock climb, roller skate and RV camp in the summer.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Even after years in the military, I'm a bit of a procrastinator. Then I kick into hyperdrive and get more done in a couple hours than most people can do in the same number of days.
You should message me if
You are artistic, cheerful, honest, mellow, love good food, fun times, travel, stimulating conversation, the great outdoors and are looking for a friend to enjoy those things with.

Don't message me if you are looking for short term or casual sex hook-ups. I may have enjoyed that as a youth, but now I'm looking for something more substantial.
The two of us