43 Oxford, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Enjoy life; live it to the full but it would be more fun to share it with someone.
What I’m doing with my life
Work involves travel to South America every 18 months or so which is highly enjoyable. I work hard and am pretty good at what I do, but am looking to change direction at some point.
Just spent time cycling in Central America and am about to go skiing. I enjoy holidays with activity (for example kayaking, yoga, walking, diving) but often also great food, beautiful areas and an ancient or historical element (I studied Classics as a degree). Sitting around a fire chatting can be rather lovely too. I do enjoy wandering and observing, finding the popular local bar or restaurant, trying to get under the skin of a place in the short time available, learning some words of the local language, understanding the politics, history and customs. But am also not averse to lying by the pool to finish that novel I have been trying to read for a while!
Exploring spirituality and mindfulness.
Time with family and my godchildren. My siblings all have active youngsters.
Enjoy theatre, gigs, museums, Oxford University courses, interesting lectures (Oxford is such a great place to live for that). I'm very interested in the environment and sustainability at the moment, and working out how I can incorporate more understanding of it in my work.
I appreciate honesty, integrity and straightforwardness in others and my motto in life, with acknowledgement to Charles Kingsley, is "do as you would be done by".
I’m really good at
Wouldn't you like to know!
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile
The use of myriad words in the english language
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
All sorts from opera to bluegrass with some ska, indie, folk and electronica thrown in. I enjoy gigs, comedy and festivals. Films encompass Princess Bride to Lives of Others, True Romance, and a fair few foreign or slightly quirky films. All food - the fresher the better (although I do draw the line at chicken feet). Book - Time Travellers Wife is up there. I don't have a TV but as an idea I enjoy Sherlock, Homeland, Strictly, and listening to Jo Whiley and TED talks. When driving I often listen to the Radio 4 arts show, Just a Minute, and random business chats or discussion programmes. I enjoy dipping in and out of many things, and going beyond what I already know or like. My preference would certainly be a radio over a prescribed playlist.
The six things I could never do without
horizon and open spaces
laughter and finding the humour in life
great food
supportive and lovely friends and family
physical and mental activity (I guess that counts as two!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I want from life and what I can give back.
On a typical Friday night I am
I have no typical Friday but it may mean drinks with friends after work (which may lead to dancing), or heading off for a weekend to visit someone, or curling up on the sofa to relax. Rarely a dull moment!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm secretly an underwater performance artiste
You should message me if
You're looking for a life together with someone - "two pillars under one roof"