35Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I realized recently that there's really no reason for me to try to protect any anonymity here.

Hi, I'm Sam Black. I'm a professional Magic: the Gathering player ( and writer for StarCityGames, the premiere Magic website.

This means that I travel most weekends, usually to different cities in America, but I travel internationally a few times a year, and I've been to 40 different foreign cities.

I'm usually in Madison during the week, and my schedule is extremely flexible.

I'm deeply committed to my partner and not really looking to form another committed relationship, but I like meeting new people and I'm open to building long term casual relationships. Mostly interested in dating because I think dating itself is fun more than because I'm expecting it to lead to something. If you're just looking to hook up with someone, you'd find it much more efficient to pursue someone else, and if you think relationships that don't lead to marriage are a waste of your time, I'm definitely not who you're looking for.
What I’m doing with my life
It's interesting how much my self-summary, what I'm doing with my life, and what I'm really good at blend together for me. What are you other than what you do, anyway? This distinction isn't useful to me, so please refer to my previous answer.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at Magic, clearly. I'm also told I'm a good writer, but that's harder to measure objectively. I'm also a very good (vegetarian) cook.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not entirely sure. My best feature is almost certainly my hands.

More likely, people probably notice that I move and carry myself differently than other people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Time Traveler's Wife, probably some graphic novels, maybe Fables, Sandman, Preacher, Worm, HPMoR.

Movies: The Princess Bride, Finding Neverland, The Pirates of the Caribbean (first)

Shows: Firefly, The Wire, Deadwood, Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, Veronica Mars, Community, Skins, Justified, The West Wing, Buffy, Angel, Game of Thrones, Battlestar Galactica, Gravity Falls, Stranger Things

Music: I've fallen out of the habit of listening to music, except for random radio stations when I drive. I tend to mostly like rock and pop these days, but with increasingly little taste.

Food: Thai or Indian curry, burritos, falafel, most vegan food is good.

Games: Magic: the Gathering, Agricola, Dungeon Lords
Six things I could never do without
The connectivity offered by the Internet
Something to look forward to
A flexible schedule
Freedom to travel
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Games, planning activities with friends, cooking/what to make to eat, the few people who are important to me.

Also, emotional, intellectual, sexual/gender identity development of young people and how to help them develop better, particularly as it pertains to radical education reform and proper parenting. Relatedly, the role of teamwork and games in learning.
On a typical Friday night I am
Gaming--playing cards or a board game, maybe a party game with a group of friends. Either that, or arriving in a city I've just flown to and meeting up with people for dinner and then making my way to a hotel.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have no interest in privacy. I maintain a closed facebook group where I'm writing stories of my sexual development and experiences, and anything else that occurs to me to discuss that people don't usually talk about publicly. That group has over 1,000 members at the time of writing this, and I accept anyone who wants to join. If you'd like to know basically everything about me, just ask to join
You should message me if
If I seem interesting to you, you should message me. I'm not likely to message you, as you should be able to learn enough to have a good idea about whether I'm someone you'd like to talk to, but I'm very open to meeting new people.
The two of us