62Sunnyvale, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born at an extremely early age in New York City.
I come from a family of educators. I never graduated from HS. I was too busy in engineering school. I got my engineering degree when I was 20. I taught music briefly.
I have worked for the defense department for most of my career.
I have worked at many diverse jobs.
I have a passion for music and for films.
I love being a parent, and have been a single "mom" for 14 years.
I have done volunteer animal rescue work and being a foster failure, I have too many cats living with me.
I love people. I do prefer loving women. ;)
I sing, play guitars and keyboards, though not well (out of practice) and not all at once.
What I’m doing with my life
Helping friends
Enjoying friendships
Solving engineering problems
Continuing education
Planning for my inevitable full retirement
I’m really good at
Playing guitar (after I have practiced for a bit once again)
Music Theory
Problem solving ( perhaps more the geeky stuff)
Most things computer related
Picking up languages
Total recall (of trivia and minutia)
Being a parent/dad - less so as much as I try to be a mom
The first things people usually notice about me
I have been told: My eyes, my offbeat sense of humor and my contageously raucous laugh. Perhaps my nice smile and my breadth of knowledge. You can tell me when we first meet.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Most science fiction - my latest reading is some of Lem's work.
Detective stories - I enjoyed Hammett's book. My latest is some of my old classmate Steven M Cohen's books.

I have a very large collection of movies now on DVD. I have a lot of Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Foreign, Animations, Comedies. Most of Kurosawa, Fellini, Pixar, Marx Brothers, Woody Allen, Mel Brooks, the list goes on and on.

I have a moderate collection of music CDs. Some classical, jazz, rock, blues, and world music. Baroque, classical, romantic, modern. Beatles, Rolling Stones, Eric Clapton, Moody Blues, Yes, Renaissance, Gentle Giant, October Project, Enya, Loreena McKennitt, Jobim.

I enjoy most foods. My favorite is probably Italian. I enjoy Japanese, Chinese, Indian, French, Mexican, and on some occasions even a good steak, though mostly fish and chicken and veggies.
Six things I could never do without
My daughter, friends, love, music, films, internet access
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What comes next.
Where are we headed.
My next project.
Will I have enough energy by the time I become a grandparent (not too soon, I hope) to actually enjoy my grandkids.
How serious are people here at actually meeting others.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading, watching a movie or going out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Once I get to know someone, I am an open book. I probably would admit to just about anything I have done or experienced.
The two of us