35Winnipeg, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a just a country boy, living in south Winnipeg. (I took the midnight train going aaaaanywhere)

I grew up in southwestern Manitoba on a grain farm. I've been living in a house in Fort Richmond for several years now. I enjoy the outdoors, but I'm a big fan of being able to buy snacks at 4am, should the need arise.

I've recently started working on myself as a project. I've lost weight, become more active, worked on my French, started cooking again and started thinking about other ways to be a better me.

On days it doesn't rain, I ride my bike. I go to the gym when I can't ride my bike. Mr Treadmill and I don't like each other much, but we work together anyways. I love going for walks, alone or with company.

To get along well with me, you'll need to be interested in keeping healthy. I love movies, computers and TV, but that's for after you've worked off the meals I cook.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working as a security supervisor, primarily for special events. It's a fun job a lot of the time. It has allowed me to experience many new things and given me great stories to tell.

However, I am working towards a career in law enforcement. To that end I will be moving on to corrections in a few months. Once I've settled in there, I'm going to evaluate the option of continuing my university education on a part time basis.

Ultimately, my goal is to become a police officer.
I’m really good at
I'm a great cook, when given the opportunity to get creative. I enjoy tinkering with recipes I know as well as learning to make things I enjoy.

I'm a solid listener. I may not remember every detail that is put forth, but you'd be surprised what I file away.
The first things people usually notice about me
The first thing people likely notice about me is my voice. Simply because I'm usually being loud the first time they see me. I tend to get a lot of attention, partly because I'm a big guy, partly because my voice carries and partly because I just enjoy talking to people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I'm a sucker for anything Terry Pratchett writes. Once in a while I'll read a bit of philosophy. I keep up with the Game of Thrones series. I enjoy nearly any fantasy or sci-fi novel. I also read a few science magazines and books fairly often.

Movies: Netflix gets a work out fairly often. I've got a corner of my living room devoted to DVDs and Blu-Rays. I'm a fan of the medium itself. However, my preferences do lean towards "Guy Movies". Action, Sci-Fi, Crime, Comic Book Adaptations and so on. I enjoy comedy as well. I can sit through a romantic comedy, if it's actually funny, and not just repetitive. My favorite single movie is Full Metal Jacket. My favorite series is Harry Potter. My favorite actor is Adam Baldwin, but Bruce Willis is a close second. Every Christmas I watch Die Hard, it's my favorite holiday movie.

Tv: I cancelled cable, but shows I enjoy include: The Daily Show, Supernatural, top Gear (UK), Doctor Who, Venture Bros, Community and a long list of cancelled shows.

Music: My job complicates this answer. I've come to associate musicians with their behavior off stage as much as with their sound. Metallica is my favorite band, but I love most metal from that era. I've heard enjoyable songs from most genres, except the various rave styles (dubstep, trance, house, techno), I can only tolerate that in small doses. (Incidently, if you mention DJ Tiesto to me, expect a 25 minute rant, 45 if I opt for the visual aids).

Food: I make a variety of dishes. Lately I seem to be on a Tex-Mex kick, but I pick from all over. I have made sushi in the past, but my neighborhood has so many good places, it's better to go out. I'm willing to try nearly anything. I'll warn you though, I can respect vegans for their choice, but I'm not likely to give up my grill.
Six things I could never do without
1. My friends. I'll go above and beyond for my close friends, and they would for me too.

2. My family. We're not in constant communication. We get on each others nerves. We love each other absolutely.

3. Stories. I love books, movies and songs. However, the thing I love most is sharing tales with my friends.

4. Nature. I live in the city, but the city I live in is alive. I ride the trails in the park. I watch the river flow. I see the animals scurry about.

5. Food. You can survive on water and nutritional supplements if you have to, but you're not really living unless you can sit down to a nice meal now and then.

6. Logic. Common sense. Analytical thought. Math. Call it what you will, but a world where nobody thinks about what is happening is nothing but chaos.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot of time thinking about.... everything. I'm a thoughtful guy. I ponder tough questions like "did I put the hummus back in the fridge" and "if I had wings, would I just hurt myself in more spectacular ways".

Seriously though, I do wonder about what my life will be like in five years a lot lately. That seems to be the thing that I'm gnawing on at the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
This question is flawed for me. I have no typical Friday nights. Statistically, I'd likely be working. If not, however, I'll try to get some friends together to do something. I'm not a big bar person, if that is the thrust of this question. I spend too much time in that environment for work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not all that secretive, so here are a few:

I have several stuffed animals stashed around the house.

I have a birthmark that you won't see on the first date.

I've been known to growl/purr when very pleased by affection.

I sometimes fantasize about being in the world of my favorite books and TV shows.

I always sing along to the song in the credits if the Ninja Turtles movie.
You should message me if
You should message me if you want to get to know me. Don't be scared I don't bite.... hard.
The two of us