49 Astoria, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I value intelligence and passion. Life is all about challenging yourself - and having fun in the process...

Born to Italian parents, I spent a few years in Italy before growing up in New York. I went to NYU and lived in the East Village for many years. I am now an EV expat living in Astoria.

I work in education and have taught math and scuba diving at different points. I enjoy the mix of intellectual and physical, abstract and experiential.

I’ve traveled all over the world diving and taking photographs. (One highlight was whale sharks in the Galapagos. Pure magic.) I don’t define myself by my job or travels...but I do believe in having a sense of exploration and wonder.

One of the great joys of my life is my daughter. She spends most weekends with my ex, with whom I have a cordial relationship.

These days I like museums, strolls around NYC neighborhoods and hanging out in the summer at great outdoor cafes. I also love beaches and try to spend at least some time in and under water...

I also love to dance, and do so from time to time. Staying home, making a meal and cuddling on the couch are also great.

Friends say I am influenced by old EV style and interests on the outside but am pretty solid and grounded on the inside. Meaning I sometimes have pink hair and wear all black or go to a burning man party or something. But day to day do the usual things - I hold a responsible job, would do anything for my friends, and value relationships and connections.

When I love, I love deeply. Life’s too short to play it safe. I have amazing friends; many go back over 25 years. I'm hoping you also have connections that matter in your life.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at getting lost, making morning caffe e latte, staying up too late, pushing the snooze button in the morning, playing card games, finding weird creatures underwater, cooking, being ten minutes late to everything, and kissing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have eclectic tastes in music; lately listening to Scott Orr, Pandit, Still Corners, Marianne Faithful, PJ Harvey, along with fun dance around the house music.

I read a wide range of fiction and non-fiction. A favorite from my childhood is Tolkien. Scanning my bookcase, you’ll find Michael Chabon and Umberto Eco, Angela Carter and E. E. Cummings, Neil Gaiman and Mary Oliver…

I love to cook. I make a mean mushroom risotto, and yummy tiramisu.

I appreciate good films (ranging from Roman Holiday to Pulp Fiction.) I like all kinds of movies, from Indie/foreign to sci-fi...The Sunshine theater is one of my favorites in the city. Though a smart TV isn’t bad either…

Some TV faves and guilty pleasures: Homeland, Game of Thrones, Downton Abbey, and The Walking Dead. My friends keep telling me to start watching Breaking Bad.
The six things I could never do without
Morning caffe e latte
the macro lens on my underwater camera
the ocean
dangly earrings
the feel of pages turning on a great book
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Interesting math problems, why everyone lives in Brooklyn, where the good dancing in NYC is, how to find cheap airline tickets to faraway places...oh, right, and social justice and the dismal state of our environment. And chocolate.
On a typical Friday night I am
varies widely...from exploring a new neighborhood or NYC joint to chilling at home with good wine...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm way better in person than in emails/texts. Is it too old-fashioned to want to build an actual relationship through less virtual communication?
You should message me if
I'm looking for someone who is warm, intelligent, grounded, and kind, with a sense of humor. You are solid at your core, but have some edge in you. I prefer to date relatively close to my own age. I tend to like brainy affectionate playful sexy types. A big heart is a huge plus.

I’m looking for a partner/friend/lover. I’m independent, but I want to be with someone who wants to share his life.

Ideally you live in Manhattan, Brooklyn, or Queens, and you have the time and interest to date. You are looking for a genuine connection. And are open to the possibility of a relationship if the stars align and all that.

Please be emotionally and physically available. We've all had our hearts broken, but I'm hoping you still have the capacity to put it on the line once in a while.