54Columbia, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
“Funnier than a speeding bullet, smarter than a locomotive, able to leap small social niceties in a single bound.

More seriously, one of the things I've learned over the years is that all intimacy is grounded in authentic communication (whether through words, touch, a caring look, or deep personal concern). Likewise I believe that any worthwhile relationship (friends, lovers, partners) has to be based on mutual intimacy, the willingness and capacity to share and care for each other in a sincere manner.

About me: politically/socially progressive (liberal and proud of it), tall, physically fit, emotionally stable, financially secure, dependable (wait, this is the same list of adjectives that every man uses, right?), environmentally conscious (Yes, I drive a Prius), intellectually curious, sense of humor (I am already laughing at myself), professionally and personally devoted to enhancing the well-being of others/world. Believe in emotional honesty and openness. Communication and connection with a partner is a priority.

Family: Adult daughter (30) with whom I have great relationship. I am proudest that she is a genuinely kind, compassionate human being. Also smart, inquisitive, and funny/hysterical. Friends are family of choice, and I am devoted to them.

Enjoy intellectual challenge of discovering new things. Most of all I enjoy teaching; helping people grow and understand new issues (such as, “What the heck is Dr. Z trying to say?!). Believe secret to teaching is the ability and desire to communicate. Either that or merely giving lots of A’s.

Sense of humor: irreverent/whimsical/goofy more than sarcastic (though I can appreciate that in others). Few things make me as pleased as making people (and myself) laugh. My ex-wife even sent me an email saying “I’ll never find anyone that made me laugh as much as you”.

Socially: Proud that I have reputation as an empathic and kind/compassionate man. Particularly enjoy small gathering (e.g., dinner parties) where people can engage intimately with each other. Enjoy the quiet/solitude of the countryside, the beach in the winter, national parks. Favorite vacation of all time was when I went to France for two weeks with two lifelong friends, their spouses, and kids. We rented an estate, and cooked, traveled to see the sights, and just enjoyed conversation and each others company (and wine and baguettes).

Activities: Enjoy being active (hiking, yoga, dancing, basketball ... yes, being tall helps!), and make a point of trying to be healthy (without going overboard). Currently taking Argentine Tango lessons, and finding that it is less intimidating (and more fun) than I imagined.

Arts/Entertainment: Enjoy off-beat, indie films, blues music, oldies rock, Motown. Lectures are fascinating. Live theater and live music just have so much energy!

You: physically active, slender/fit, intelligent, compassionate, able to laugh at yourself (and me). Willing to tell me how you really feel about things, and want me to do the same. Open to sharing your life completely, but also appreciate having time to yourself. Aware that life is full of contradictions, and that duality is a plus not a minus. The list of adjectives can go on forever … and are of limited value until we have an opportunity to meet in person.

Us: it is all about connection. Sincere, mutual, supportive connections. The ability to laugh together. To share life together. To be there for each other through the best of times ... and the rest of times.

PLEASE: no Trump supporters. That would definitely be a deal killer!
What I’m doing with my life
Generally try to be the "best" I can be (without having to join the Army). Which means: mentally active, physically healthy, and promoting "good" in the world (humanitarian, environmental, etc). Plus, just trying to enjoy the simple pleasures of life (hiking, food, laughter).
I’m really good at
Creativity (inclusive of conceptual thinking, cooking, and writing), lighhearted and playfulness, and generally "kind" (compassion, nurturing, giving massages).
The first things people usually notice about me
Height (6'3")?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Fiction: One hundred years of solitude (and many others)
Non-Fiction: Nudge, The Evolution of Desire, The Ape and the Sushi Master, The Tipping Point, Guns Germs and Steel (read about a book a week on average)
Movies: indie films usually
Music: classic rock ... U2, CSNY, etc
Food: spicy ... Indian, Thai ... I love to cook
Six things I could never do without
1) Love/companionship;
2) humor/playfulness;
3) books (read and writing);
4) exercise (yoga, hiking, gym - feeling healthy);
5) friends/family (daughter is 28 yrs old and has her own life ... tis good!);
6) salty snacks and chocolate
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Human nature/behavior and how an understanding of intrinsic tendencies can be used to move social policy in a positive direction (yes, I'm kind of a wonk)
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably spend too much time reading.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll admit almost anything ... I harbor no secrets ... but not on-line
You should message me if
If you think we might have things in common ... and want to
The two of us