47Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*Leaving this up, but I am involved with "A Good Thing" and seeing where it goes. Hope I can take down this profile in the near future. Good luck to you all.*

The short for now; I work in health care. Have worked with computers for seven years in the past. Various other jobs including food service, bars, factories, and on the family farm.

Lived in several parts of the world; Latin America, Europe. And both coasts of the US, in NYC and now twice in the SF-Bay. Grew up in Michigan in a rural area, and was born in the Hinterland.

Enjoy slow travel where I can spend more than two weeks some place. Seeing more of Europe would be great, as well as South America, India, Japan. Unless some radical changes happen with our foreign policies other places in North Africa, and Middle East just won't be happening.

Hobbies camping, backpacking, hiking, SCUBA, snorkeling, bicycling, motorcycling, sailing, target shooting. Enjoy most arts but only have an education in music. Don't consider myself to be a "creative" type, but enjoy talking about ideas and learning. Enjoy all those topics that are not polite to talk about in mixed company; poli-sci, theology, etc.

Recent joys; Learning to telemark ski. A six+ week trip on the motorcycle riding from the Bay Area to New Mexico/Mexico boarder, then following the Continental Divide up to Canada. 80% dirt roads, camping, awesome nature. Side trips to Hell's Canyon, Glacier NP, across Northern Washington State, around the Olympic Peninsula, visit friends in Portland OR, then back down the coast to finish the loop.

Enjoy the company of thinkers/dream makers. Live and let live, eat drink and be merry for tomorrow we may die. Serious about real fun.

More personal stuff later.
What I’m doing with my life
Seeking that perfect balance between work and hobbies. Finding someone to make memories with. Keeping things simple. Being more available to my good friends and family.
The first things people usually notice about me
No clue as no one has really told me. Guess if I walked in the room you see what my profile says/photos show. A white guy about six foot, brown eyes/hair, medium frame. Once in a while you might catch me acting silly but most times I am just chilling watching others or trying to have that next intense talk/interaction.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food: Just about anything. Somethings I don't care for either due to taste or personal connections; Jellyfish (taste), goat (connection grew up on a farm with them, but I love milk/cheese/etc), one of the types of eel (forget which, taste), octopus (connection, but I love squid, huh), most foods made from food service (canned/processed/etc) (taste/health) more and more the "food industry" is selling shit and ruining health, rather not go down that road.

Music; Good. Well anything that has had real effort put in to it. Examples of fail are the current "main stream" versions of watered down pop versions of Country, R&B, and Pop. They all sound so generic and formulaic. It would take too long to list what I listen too.

Movies; Often Indie/art/documentary/foreign but I will spurge for some Hollywood stuff if it looks like it will be a visual treat. Off the top of my head in no particular order; Memento, Evil Dead, Cave of Forgotten Dreams, Departures, Bridge Over Troubled Waters, Solaris (original 70s Russian version not the shit HW remake), and more.

Shows: Finding more stuff on the net that is compelling; link between Freud, his Nephew, birth of ad agencies, propaganda, Nazi's use of all that, and the implications to how the consumer culture is created (why I hate TV/ads so much).

Books; TBH I am not as well read as I'd like to be. Infinite Jest, Godel Escher Bach, Guns Germs and Steel, Calculus Based Physics for Engineering, all the math books for my BS (diff eqs, combinatorial, abstract algebra, calculus, etc), Complete works of Harlan Ellison (one of my fav SF writers).
Six things I could never do without
Clean air, clean water, good sleep, shelter, good food, security/friendship. Good Old Maslow's.
On a typical Friday night I am
Often working being low on the pole. But on my time off doing chores, trying to meet up with friends, cooking at home, relaxing, getting out and enjoying nature. Working nights, time of day means less to me now.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I admit it on a public site like OKC then it's not private. I like paradoxes. The only thing I know for sure is I know nothing. I always lie. Love them paradoxes. If we hit it off you will get to know a private thing or two. Until then nothing free. ;)
You should message me if
Open minded, not damaged goods, like to have a stable supportive person around.
The two of us