CambridgeKookla
36 Jamaica Plain, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
CambridgeKookla
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Briefly, I am caring, funny, thoughtful, adventurous, and ready for long-term commitment with the right person.

I love: to dance (take some classes), to sing, travel, outdoor rec (hiking, biking, cross-country skiing), yoga, being active and playful generally, film, to cook and eat, hardy laughs, getting away for the weekend, or schlubbing around my apartment in my pj's. I'm on the board of a local homelessness organization.

I recognize a friend by s/he who laughs generously at my jokes. Sometimes run in a new agey or hippie circle, but am often amongst the more ironic participants. I'm very close to my mom and my sister, and a doting aunt to my niece and nephew who live locally.

I also love to travel, have lived internationally, and am most stimulated by developing countries. Destinations on my wish list include Brazil, Ireland and Scotland, West and South Africa, Seattle and Vancouver, and so on and so on.

I am not religious, but find myself looking towards spirituality (e.g. mindfulness) more in recent years. I also come from a family rich in tradition (Jewish, Greek, and "New Yorker"), which is a great source of pleasure and entertainment.

(CambridgeKookla is a misnomer ever since I crossed the river in June. JPKookla now.)
What I’m doing with my life
As of March '15, I'm working as a project manager for an educational group travel company. I really enjoy my coworkers and their commitment to their mission. Plus they sent me to Cuba for a week so I ain't complaining.

I worked in international development and obesity prevention before travel. Project management and a commitment to doing good in the world are the constants.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh, making myself laugh, listening, dance improvisation, honoring commitments, befriending children, riding a bike in the city, remembering song lyrics, taking care of myself, giving thoughtful gifts, massage, non-fiction writing, cooking a smattering of vegetarian and other dishes, giving and receiving affection, toasts and speeches for loved ones at special events.

I enjoy going out of my way for people: facilitating professional connections, introducing friends who live in the same city or share interests, playing matchmaker, etc.

I can also say that I actively try to be as conscientious, kind, and honest at all times. And sometimes falter.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have several different laughs and one of them is an onomatopoeic "ha ha ha." Some recurring compliments include high emotional IQ and nice butt, genuine, compassionate, and organized.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Boyhood, Happy Go Lucky, The Wrestler, Office Space, School of Rock, Pina, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Man on Wire, Frances Ha, Almodovar films.

TV: Downton Abbey and Louie CK were :( the only shows I'm totally loyal to. I really enjoyed the Oliver Kitteridge series and Catastrophe. Thinking about taking up Mad Men again, but I'd rather do that while spooning my new hot boyfriend :)

Music: Gillian Welch, Brandi Carlile, Neil Young, lots of other folk/rock, Lauryn Hill, Ethiopian jazz and vocalists, some pop (ex. Lorde, Sia), indie rock, etc. Emphasis on etc. I suppose I fall healthily left of center on the folk/rock spectrum, and most other spectra for that matter.

Books: I've been on a Buddhism and mindfulness reading streak in the last year or so. Also recently read "Between the World and Me," which had a strong impact.

Food and drink: There are few foods that I don't like. Indian and Greek food and ice cream rank pretty high and I can enjoy finer dining but generally seek out low-profile neighborhood spots especially ethnic restaurants. I have vegetarian leanings but like meat, too. Eat lots of fruits and veggies. I enjoy beer, wine, and cocktails, but all in moderation.
The six things I could never do without
Family, friends, music, dance, hugs, and kisses.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Small tweaks (improvements) to my work/life balance, human nature, friendship and relationships generally, men, the haves and have nots, how to minimize my environmental impact, dance/movement, my niece and nephew, my many blessings, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
There really isn't a typical Friday night. I'm active/social a few evenings a week, more often that's on the weekend but not always.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmm
You should message me if
You've got a sense of humor (ripsnorting hilarious is great - silly and playful are good, too), are kind, active, communicative, and warm.

You have the time and are in the right emotional space to integrate someone new into your life.
More