61Mukilteo, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for a first mate who, like me, loves adventures big and small. A romantic at heart, I am dependable, a good listener, stable, trusting, and honest.

My idea of a great date is daysailing in the San Juan Islands followed by anchoring in a quiet bay with Mount Baker hanging in the alpine glow, me cooking you dinner, drinking wine, snuggled warmly in the cabin of my sailboat listening to good music and conversation.

I am an attorney with a tax and bankruptcy practice in Everett. I came to the Pacific Northwest right after college and it’s been home ever since. My center of gravity is my two sons, one in college and the other in high school.

I enjoy all that Seattle has to offer. Dance, clubs, Benaroya Hall, SAM, the Seattle Times, the Aquarium, fusion restaurants. I see us trying inventive mixed drinks after foreign art films, cycling the Burk Gilman trail, kayaking Lake Union, and walking Discovery Park on a blustery winter’s day before ducking into a classical guitar concert.

I love to eat, mostly healthy whole foods. Cooking a new recipe together while listening to music you brought ranks high on my to-do list.

I am in shape. I backpacked the Grand Canyon the last four spring seasons on remote trails, some of which required climbing and repelling. Last September I backpacked the North Cascades with my friends from Taos. Last summer I rode for the third time the Seattle-to-Portland bike ride. I ride my bike to work three days a week, just under an hour each way.

I'm not plain vanilla. I hope you are not either. My sailboat is built out of steel to a custom design: Strong, stable, dry, and unique. There is no other boat like her in the world; she’s no production fiberglass boat. That’s my style. I have a pretty strong inner compass. I am not much of a follower or into trends. I haven’t owned a television in twenty years. I live my own life, with adventure at the core.

I am seeking a woman who values communication, trust, and honesty. I do not, however, want a mirror image of myself. I look forward to learning new things from you and your life. I appreciate a woman who is well read and educated. Intelligence is a major turn on for me, just like the right curves in tight jeans.

So, if you are young at heart, fit, disciplined in some ways yet impulsive in others, and love adventures big and small, I just might be your guy. I have a berth for you. Better yet, if the weather gets snotty and we both start turning green, I’ll give the wheel to you because that’s just how I am.
What I’m doing with my life
My last kid is leaving for college in about a year. I am getting ready to start life after kids. I have lost over 60 pounds the past four years and become more active. Getting younger every day.
I’m really good at
Listening, adventure, eating, and sex. LOL.
The first things people usually notice about me
Someone stole most of my hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot of books. I tend to favor foreign films and art films. As to food, I will eat anything so long as it's whole foods, not processed stuff. That includes raw sea urchins with rancid seal grease in a remote Alaskan village, and raw jelly fish in Korea. I hit the classical guitar concerts on a regular basis. I like all forms of music except rap. But I cannot go to rock concerts or bars with super loud music on account of an explosion in a car when I was sixteen.
Six things I could never do without
Green tea, dark chocolate, bicycling, hiking, sailing, getting out of town, my kids, and you.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where my missing socks go. Seriously, it's one of life's greater mysteries. I have so many orphaned socks, cycling gloves, knee warmers . . . . Somewhere in my bedroom is a crack in the cosmic egg.
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't have typical Friday nights. Pick one: dancing, dining out, cooking in, travel to the boat, traveling out of town, cleaning home, movie, sniffing for good books at the bookstore, working late, BS'ing with my son. . . .
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My first girlfriend was a closet exhibitionist, in that her engines never really got running unless there was a risk of getting caught--the bigger the risk the hotter she got--and I had so little experience that I didn't understand the dynamics until about three girlfriends later. She did leave me with many peculiar memories.
You should message me if
You are not plain vanilla either. You know who you are.
The two of us