31Altamonte Springs, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello there!

I am new(ish) to Orlando and looking to expand my circle of friends, as well as find someone to date. I have come to the realization that i have lost the ability to meet people now that I am not in school and now that all of my co-workers are significantly older than me. :)

I would most definitely describe myself as a dorky person. I am probably your exact definition of the stereotypical young English professor. I wear too much plaid, argyle, and corduroy. Then I geek out over poetry, writing, and film on a daily basis while my students are probably rolling their eyes at my excitement.

I like to stay active, either with my body or my mind. Exploring parks, farmer markets, and different restaurants and bars are favorite pastimes of mine. However, I can also, and am perfectly content, be a homebody (aka hermit) who experiments with cooking new recipes, having adventurous cocktail nights, reading, and watching movies/marathoning TV shows.

Things that I enjoy doing (and would most likely enjoy doing with you):

--Finding the perfect whiskey sour
--...but really just settling for a pitcher of PBR or Rainer (does that even exist in Florida?!).
--Jigsaw puzzles.
--Exploring used book stores.
--Cooking and experimenting with new recipes.
--Games of any sort: board games, video games (no shooting or sports games though), and card games.
--Going to the Zoo/Aquarium.
--Witty banter and sarcasm.
--TV show marathoning.
--Watching what will most likely be terrible B sci-fi/fantasy films.
--And the list goes on...just ask!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm originally from Florida, but I've been living in Seattle for the past 5 years. I love the constant overcast skies, continual mist, and mountains of the Pacific Northwest, but I moved back to Florida in the summer for an amazing teaching job I managed to snag.

So, that is what I am doing with my life--I'm an English teacher at a community college. I couldn't imagine doing anything else as a career. I love it.

Also, other fun things like adventuring, exploring, eating tasty foods, and watching horrible (and not so terrible) movies.
I’m really good at
drinking too much coffee.

The first things people usually notice about me
The curly hair. Its like really curly. Seriously. Its so curly that I haven't owned a comb in 10+ years.

Then probably the tattoos.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Oh god...I have a masters degree in English lit, so the books would take forever. Let's discuss that over coffee or drinks.

As for movies and shows, I am into things like 30 Rock (I'm kind of in love with Liz Lemon), Parks and Rec, Community, The NewsRoom, Girls, Game of Thrones Better off Ted, Arrested Development, and things of that sort. Basically, I enjoy my shows to have silly, yet relevant and somewhat clever humor to them. Guilty pleasures that aren't so guilty: True Blood, How I Met Your Mother, Chopped, and Grey's Anatomy (yep.).

I grew up with a strong love for punk and ska. While I don't listen to that genre quite as much these days, it has a special place in my heart and I always enjoy it. Right now, I listen to a lot more indie bands, folk, and instrumental-type bands. My current pandora stations are The Lumineers, Dustin O'Hollaran, Murder by Death, The Mars Volta, Explosions in the Sky, and Bon Iver.
Six things I could never do without
A comfy bed
Coffee (I just wanted to reiterate its importance and my love for it)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once sleepwalked from my hotel room in Atlanta, and I woke up in the middle of downtown Atlanta wearing only my underwear. I usually don't sleepwalk anymore.
You should message me if
While I do like to go out (bars where you can talk, play pool, dive bars--No clubs or assorted places like that), I enjoy staying in and movie marathoning (if that is a word...) much more. An ideal girl would be perfectly content watching movies, cuddled up on the couch on a regular basis. I am looking for someone who is doing something with her life. If you're 25 or 26 and still partying and have no education, then that is great for you and I'm sure there are a ton of people out there who will appreciate that kind of lifestyle. However, you are not for me. Also, if you're religious, it probably won't work out, but we can certainly be friends! I always am on the outlook for new friends.

I am looking for someone who has a career (or is actively pursuing it or attending graduate school for said career), doesn't need to be supported, and has her life (somewhat) put together. While I am looking for someone to eventually become serious with, I am in no rush to immediately settle down, but being in similar life-stages is important to me. I'd like to be able to travel and do things with my partner without money being the(major) thing holding us back.
The two of us