Celtic-Ink
44 Riverview, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Celtic-Ink
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
***Update 04/13/2016. Time to do another profile update, it's been way too long, so some housekeeping is needed.***

I've been a gypsy of sorts, due to the various paths my life and careers have taken. Florida makes the eighth state I have lived in. I'm a former academic that has re-joined the corporate world, I was previously at a private research institute after leaving the corporate world, but due to grant funding issues I am now back to the corporate world, thankfully this time at a much better company.

I'm a geek, a gamer, a sci-fi enthusiast, a foodie, and in general, a character. I'm also a pagan (though non-practicing lately), am poly / polyamorous / ethically non-monogamous, there is a lot going on to say the least.

I'm married. We are polyamorous, this is not me looking to cheat or lie, my presence here on OKC is known, in fact encouraged, my wife is SamhainBorne. I am here looking for someone interested in getting together, friendship, dating, basically to see what happens, I don't have a specific goal or definition that I am after, I prefer to let things evolve and develop, rather than be constrained to specific categories or limitations.

I am geeky, mischievous, multifaceted, and over-educated.
What I’m doing with my life
I am still adjusting to life in Florida, as this is the first time I have lived in a place that does not have four definite seasons (especially winter). I miss the nice fall weather (not all the hassles of snow, but definitely do miss watching while inside nice and warm).

I am also continuing to adjust and fit into the world of marketing of scientific instrumentation, and pursuing the career path that I have returned to after about a year and a half at a private research institution.

My corporate career has been very educational after being an academic so long. I taught for 6 years previously and that was after college and grad school, (I was institutionalized I think *grin*).

I have gotten to do a lot of travel (domestic and international) in my current and previous jobs which has been great, I enjoy being able to do some travel but not living out of a suitcase. And I greatly enjoy the chance to eat lots of local foods and when I have a chance to see new places other than conferences/tradeshows and customer sites.

These days I am starting to explore our area of Florida and the South, seeing what it has to offer, and trying to make it our new home. We were seriously spoiled by Madison, WI (where we lived before), so it will take time and some serious work to make things click, but I am up to the challenge. And of course it would be great to have people to help me find those unique things that will make this area my new home. I really enjoyed Madison, it was the perfect blend of what I like, not too crazy a city and not too rural. As a foodie there was so much food there to enjoy! And as a gamer it was an ideal place, as I had developed some great groups, and they have led to some great friendships.

I tried to build a good, regular gym routine. I would get close, but then fun social opportunities arise or lots of work travel happened and then my schedule was messed up. I need to try again and see what I can make work, either through a gym or just on my own, too much time sitting in a cubicle just isn't good, plus being a foodie I tend to indulge a bit more than I should.
I’m really good at
Well, I am pretty good at being a geek! *grin* As a chemist, gamer, computer user, and general science enthusiast, I am a pretty hardcore geek some days. But I am also a food lover. I enjoy trying new things, learning to cook more dishes, learning new cooking methods, and in general playing with my food. I'm a good slave to my cats, feeding them, playing with them, cleaning litter boxes, and keeping the bird feeders full for their enjoyment (cat TV). I've even worked with a cat rescue group as well.

I am a hardcore gamer. Lots of D&D (I've played all versions), GURPS, World of Darkness, GURPS, Call of Cthulhu, dabbled a little in Pathfinder, Shadowrun,. Serenity, and plenty more. I've been dabbling in Steampunk and run a GURPS campaign. Lately I have been adding to my Munchkin collection. And I need to add more to the Settlers of Catan sets so there are more options. Want to get me started? Just ask about my dice, and you'll see how crazy a gamer I can be. Though I do like to get into a serious game of Scrabble now and then, and use my crazy vocabulary, these days I play too much Words With Friends. A good game of Monty Python Fluxx works too. I had a great stretch where I was able to experience a wide range of conventions, from local cons (in WI) (OddCon and RockCon) to finally making it to GenCon in 2011, I made it back in 2015, it was a great time for seeing friends, the dealer room, and people watching. Plus we've managed to get to TeslaCon 2 and 3 - an amazing Steampunk con held in Madison.

I'm a good cook, all the years in the chemistry lab mean I have plenty of good techniques, I'm just adapting them to the kitchen. And I can follow a recipe as well. I like to start with a recipe and then start adjusting and adding in my little changes and tweaks. I would like to do more grilling, I am still getting my skills where I want them when it comes to the grill. I like making my own chili powder and using it to make big batches of chili, with jalapeno cornbread.

I'm very good at being nocturnal, though I play a morning person when at work (though it is a stretch some/most days), thankfully work has lots of good free coffee and espresso.

And I am very good at being a cat person, so if you are allergic to cats it may be a challenge. Through my wife I got involved in a cat rescue group while we were in Wisconsin. I helped with adoption fairs, socializing feral rescues, and eventually fostering cats. We only have two cats now, our furkids, as we are not planning on any other kind of kids. And almost a year and a half ago we rescued another cat off the street, so we are definitely crazy cat people.

Even though I can be very outgoing I am an introvert so some days I just need space and quiet. And I do tend to look at profiles a few times while I get up the nerve to send a message. I always worry that my first message to someone sounds completely lame and boring, if I have messaged you and this is the case please give me a chance, soon you'll see my friendly (and chatty) personality shine through the initial shyness.
The first things people usually notice about me
The thing that I think people notice first is my personality, the outgoing, friendly nature. From there they experience my quirky sense of humor, and it doesn't take too long before the geekiness shows.

I've been told I have nice blue eyes.

There is a mischievous gleam in my eyes now and then, and usually a grin that can go with it. Though I can keep a straight face when I am up to something.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: J.R.R. Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, D&D Books, Star Wars novels, Dreseden Files books by Jim Butcher, books by Cherie Priest, The Watchmen, Mercedes Lackey, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Robert Jordan, Laurell K Hamilyon, Brother Cadfael series, Susan Wittig Albert, Robert Heinlein, Joseph Campbell, Harry Potter, and many others. Of course Chemistry books, Archaeological Chemistry is a hobby. I've been getting more into Steampunk so I have been adding more books to the house library, so I've been adding Jules Verne, H G Wells, and modern authors. I recently finished all the George R.R. Martin's series A Song of Fire And Ice. And I have polished off all the Robot and Foundation books by Isaac Asimov. Currently I'm reading some Terry Pratchett Discworld novels.

Movies: Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Iron Man, Batman, Serenity, Indiana Jones, Monty Python, Buckaroo Banzai, James Bond, Spiderman, Star Trek, The Princess Bride, Real Genius, The Thin Man series, The Court Jester, The Wicker Man (the first one), Die Hard, Ghostbusters, Superman, Men in Black, Casablanca, X-Men, Highlander, Escape from New York, and many more. And new to the list: Deadpool, The Avengers, Thor, Captain America. Obviously I like sci-fi and adventure movies.

Shows: Doctor Who, Torchwood, M*A*S*H, The Twilight Zone, Star Trek, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Babylon 5, Life After People, lots of Food Network - Alton Brown is my favorite, Coupling, Top Gear, Graham Norton, Dexter, Father Ted, CSI, NCIS, Bones, Firefly, Dresden Files, Oddities, Travel Channel.

Music: My music tastes tend to rock, hard rock, metal, classic also Celtic, comedy, and other eclectic things at times. Bands such as: Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, AC/DC, Metallica, Megadeth, Type-O Negative, Jethro Tull, Dr. Demento, The Wet Spots, Halestorm, In This Moment, The Chieftans, Clannad, Colcannon, Bad Company, King Crimson, Twisted Sister, Mediaeval Babes, Libana, Mudvayne, Queen, Rob Zombie, Weird Al Yankovic, plus lots of others.

Food: Italian, Indian, Thai, Mexican, Tex-Mex, Southwestern, Chinese, Japanese, and so much more! I recently fallen deeply in foodie love with Vietnamese pho, due to a great small place near where I work. I love good spicy foods, new experiences. And I have a major sweet tooth, so I am always up for dessert. I got to travel in India and enjoyed all the amazing food I got to try. I can eat breakfast for any meal (but must eat breakfast foods for breakfast no matter what time I day am eating breakfast), and think going out to brunch is a wonderful thing. I love diner food all the way up to crazy, exotic foods. So I can be a foodie, or just a food lover.
The six things I could never do without
Well, other than the survival basics I need:

Internet connected device(s)
My cats - three of them these days
Sleeping in & Good Coffee - a definite combo (even better if it is Dunkin' Donuts coffee and donuts)
All my gaming stuff (gotta have lots & lots of dice, and miniatures!)
My music

And tattoos - they may be covered for work, but I like my ink and always need more work.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I can be a very analytical type, so I spend a lot of time thinking about just about everything. From science stuff, to regular life stuff, to the future, the past, etc. My mind is always working on something, and usually mischief is involved sooner or later.

Of course at work I tend to be thinking of things involving marketing, science, and the mix of the two.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually not doing anything super crazy. A good part of the time I just have a quick dinner and then unwind after a long week. I do need to get out more, be social, meet people, and do things, though I tend to do more on Saturday, as I spend Friday night crashed out after a long week.

I'm not a loud or smoky bar type. I very much prefer to be able to have a good conversation. I definitely prefer smaller more intimate gatherings versus large crowded areas. Nor am I much of a sports person, I would rather be doing something than sitting around watching other people do things.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have many interesting things to share, but you have to get to know me first. I have some interesting tattoos in interesting places.

I have leanings into several flavors of kink, and would be glad to talk about my interests and potential shared interests once we chat some and ideally meet up in person.
You should message me if
You are looking to chat with, hang out with, maybe date, a geeky, gamer, science type. You know what polyamory on non-monogamy is, might be a little (or a lot) kinky, and are okay with me being married. And if you want, check out my fetlife profile: DrAlchemy
More