48Wayzata, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have lived in MN for over 20 yrs, but I still consider myself a ND transplant. I work in 2 animal related fields, love travel, horse racing, movies, plays, books and sports.

I am not naive, I know that you just dont one day wake up and find the perfect person for you, so I am looking for a friend and see if we can build it into that kind of relationship. If not, a good friend is always welcome.
What I’m doing with my life
I have been at my full time job for 16 years and my part time job (in various incarnations) for over 20 years.

In the interest of personal improvement, I am working hard to overcome several years of suffering from "couch-potato-itis". I hate exercising (and my personal trainer most days) but I am getting there. *Update--due to a course of medication, I took a severe backslide in the weight dept, so starting over again.

I am working on a bucket list item of attending races at every major thoroughbred racetrack in North America (Hey, if guys can go to every baseball or football stadium, why not?) and taking time to sightsee a bit at each stop while I am in the area.

I have been to Europe twice and would love to go back sometime.

I also head back to ND whenever possible to spend time with my family.
I’m really good at
--I have been voted "world's best Godparent/honorary Aunt" for 7 years running.
--As a general rule, all animals love me (except dilute tortishell cats, long story--no real explanation). I am even called the "dog whisperer" at one of my jobs and the "cat whisperer" at the other.
--I rock at baking....I am frequently told I should quit work and bake for a living, but then I dont think I would enjoy it as much.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile and/or my laugh. Possibly because I am usually smiling and/or laughing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Ride The Wind by Lucia St. Clair Robson
I have a wide range of genres I enjoy: Paranormal Fiction, Biographies, Civil War non-fiction, Classics, Romance, Mystery, Urban Fantasy, etc.
Gone With the Wind
On the Town
Day After Tomorrow
Monty Python's Holy Grail
pretty much anything but slasher movies.
Miss Saigon
Midsummer Night's Dream
Civil War: a Musical
HMS Pinafore
China Beach (hands down, all time fav)
Food Network/Cooking Channel
Investigative Discovery
Big Bang Theory
Revolution (so far)
Sleepy Hollow
Vietnam Era Classic Rock
haluptsi & peirogy-Ukrainian (some ppl will say Polish/Slavic/etc, but my family is Ukrainian, so I call it that)
Six things I could never do without
1--my family
2--good friends
5--my passport (even if it isn't used often enough)
6--affection (although I have proven I can go long periods of time without it)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
why I find the questions mainly 'irrelevant'. I guess I am willing to take different opinions into account, who knows. Oh well...takes my mind off trivial things like work. ;)
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing my laundry...someone save me, PLEASE!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Until I was 21, I went by the nickname "Dolly". When I graduated high school, several people came up to say that they didn't know my real name isn't Dolly. My family and friends that met me before I turned 21 still call me that.

Ok, so it isn't that private of a thing, but hey...I don't even know you yet. :) Ask me again once you get to know me.
You should message me if
You are honest, can make me laugh, you think we might have chemistry, like to treat women well and like to be treated well in return. Please don't bother messaging me if you are looking for hookups, friends with benefits or if some other woman considers you hers. That just isn't my thing.

PS....Bonus points if you can tell me the year Seattle Slew won the Triple Crown (more bonus points if you know what the Triple Crown is).
The two of us