Chazmek
29 Granite Falls, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Chazmek
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi there! Let's get the big stuff out of the way so no one wastes any more time than they have to, shall we?
Polyamorous, liberal, feminist, blacklivesmatter, Buddhist, very outdoorsy.
If any of that sounds like a deal-breaker, feel free to move along :)
.
.
.
.
Still here? Alright, let's get into more detail.
I have had a fascination with nature from a young age and I enjoy being outside in any sort of natural terrain. I love animals of all kinds, but have a great fondness for cephalopods, hymenopterids, and especially mustelids. I am a student and teacher of Chinese martial arts, and have been training for quite a long time.
I find beauty in some strange places, like the flight of an arrow released from a wooden bow, the first sprouts of seedlings pushing up through soil, the humming of a honeybee hive, and a well-executed knee-wheel throw.

In general, I'm a fairly introverted and reserved person, but in the right setting I can be quite gregarious. Be warned, I am likely to babble at great length if asked about things I'm passionate about.

I live with my anchor partner in tiny Granite Falls and we share our space with two cats.
We also own 23.5 acres of nearby forest and pasture where our flock of ducks, two horses, cow, and honey bees reside. Hopefully we'll be moving into a little house on the farm soon too!
What I’m doing with my life
My long term goals involve turning our piece of land into a fully operational permaculture farm. I am generally interested in living a life closer to true sustainability and harmony with my world. The elk and deer who eat my plants (and whom I might eat in turn), and the coyotes that will undoubtedly eat some of our animals are a part of this world, and living with them is all part of the challenge. The least I can do is try to minimize our impact on the planet, yeah?
Outside of farm work, I spend a lot of time practicing and teaching kung fu, and regardless of the directions my life or career take, that will always be a part of it.
With the free time I have after work and training, I love to cook and experiment with cocktail recipes. Other common activities are hanging out with friends/dates, playing in the forest, catching up on my (woefully long) reading list, and playing games (either the computer or table-top RPG varieties).
I’m really good at
Smelling things. I don't know why, but I have incredibly sharp olfactory sensors.

Identifying edible or poisonous plants and fungi.

Archery.

Improvising spice and seasoning mixtures.
The first things people usually notice about me
Depending on my mood, most people's first impressions of me range from "smart-ass with a strange sense of humor" to "wait, there's someone standing there? I didn't even notice him".
Physically...maybe the long hair? Or my strange eyes? I dunno.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: sci-fi, fantasy, historical fiction. Recently I've been engrossed in the works of Steven Brust, Scott Lynch, Brandon Sanderson, and Patrick Rothfuss.

Also in the list of things I love to read: XKCD, Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, Questionable Content, Girl Genius, Order of the Stick, Something Positive, Girls With Slingshots, Strong Female Protagonist, Kimchi Cuddles, and Sinfest.

Movies: just about any cheesy sci-fi, action, or martial arts movies. I also love to laugh at horror movies!

TV: Firefly, S.H.I.E.L.D., Game of Thrones, Arrow, Sherlock, Star Trek, ya know, the usual nerdy shows.

Computer games: though recently I have had very little opportunity to play, gaming is still a guilty pleasure I indulge every once in a while. I usually play computer games because I enjoy the plot lines and the characters' stories, so they are usually filed in the same parts of my brain as good books and movies.

Music: melodic power metal, 80's rock & pop, eurobeat, happy hardcore, dubstep, heavy mahogany

Mmmm...food...
Well, I have a great fondness for Chinese, Thai, Indian, and Italian, though I guess there isn't much that I don't like.
I spend a lot of time playing around in the kitchen, and one of my favorite date activities is cooking together.
I am also a huge fan of mead and scotch; always looking for interesting types to sample.
The six things I could never do without
Home cooked food
Affectionate touch
A mattock pick and horihori (most useful tools ever invented, I swear!)
Comics
Sunny days in the forest
Well crafted cocktails
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Martial arts, sex, whatever game or book I've recently become engrossed in, and how nature has created more fascinating and bizarre lifeforms than sci-fi authors could ever imagine.
On a typical Friday night I am
If nothing else presents itself, I will likely occupy myself with training/exercising, cooking, pursuing the perfect scotch cocktail, watching cheesy movies or old tv shows, and even the occasional rave or wild party.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There isn't much about myself that I'll keep secret. I'm a pretty open book, so if you'd like to know something, just ask. Seriously, it's unlikely you'll even come close to asking anything too personal/private. And I just realized that sounded like a challenge...
For the sake of filling out this profile though, I'll admit I have a persistent fear that I'm not accomplishing enough in my life and will never achieve the things I seek.
You should message me if
I'm not going to enter a big list of the different kinds of people who should or shouldn't message me. But, I enjoy getting messages (seriously, I get all excited when I see the little mail notification from OKC), so feel free to send one my way!

For instance, it'd be fun to hear from people that know how to tell the difference between a crow and a raven, understand the relationship between baguazhang and taijiquan, can discuss the merits or drawbacks of THAC0, or know what a "Fesnyng" is, without looking it up!

I will likely get along well with anyone who can feasibly describe themselves as being nerdy or geeky in any way at all. Passion and intelligence are very attractive to me.
More