34 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from Portland,OR, currently a postdoc in Seattle. after 7 years in CO, I'm stoked to be back in the NW! I'm interested in volunteering, adventures and the outdoors. I love to hike, snowshoe and jog and I have no qualms with walking places. I am always down for a trip (work allowing). I love obscure facts, although they don't seem to help me at trivia too much.
What I’m doing with my life
Chemistry research in global health, building a career in the sciences. I've been trying to meet people by volunteering for park clean ups, so far I've met a lot of middle aged couples. I think I need to start volunteering for Brunch.
I’m really good at
I aspire to be a decent cook, I'm a quick learner and I'm up for anything.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably the unique wardrobe. My style has been equated to a 8-year old given free rein on his clothing decisions, but I can rock a suit and tie. I have a large hat collection and try to keep up a good headware rotation. Also, my facial hair is in a constant state of flux.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Catch 22 is my comfort read, I've been through it about 7 times now. Short stories: Stephen King, Jack London, Poe, detective/spy novels and Ed McBain police procedurals
A good range: Coen Brothers, Old Noir Films, ever seen Ravenous? The darker Sci Fi flicks. I also enjoy a really bad horror movie.
Community, Parks and Rec, Arrested Development, Undeclared and Freaks and Geeks, classic Simpsons.
I'm a Huge fan of Elliott Smith, Counting Crows, the Cure, Andrew Bird, Toad the Wet Sprocket (for some reason). I mix in a bit of Blackalicious, Cypress Hill,and Wu Tang and go back to some Kiss, ZZ top, Gordon Lightfoot and Bad Company when I'm slowing things down. I'm always down for some obscure local live shows.
Spice is nice. My goto Sunday meal out usually turns out to be Thai but I think I am physically required to eat a burger every two weeks or so. I like to cook and usually end up making too much of a 3 course meal, I get by on my leftovers. I like unique ingredients and sometimes just wander the local asian supermarket in a daze wondering what I would do with a child sized Jackfruit.
The six things I could never do without
A well-stocked kitchen, coconut water, an occasional jog, apparently podcasts (Stuff you Should Know, Stuff Mom Never Told You, Professor Blastoff, Wait Wait), intelligent conversation and the mossy smell of a wet forest.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How much I would like more space to devote to homebrew in my ever shrinking apartment. If I do have a fermenter going its kind of like a pet, I want to make sure its healthy and I'm always looking for something to do with it. recent brews: Ghost Chili Scotch ale, Bourbon Cherry Porter and handpicked hop pale ale.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hitting up a happy hour, prepping for an eventful weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a strange phobia of stickers, I think they are disgusting. As a kid I was horrified when teachers would slap a "great job!" sticker on my assignments.
You should message me if
You can actively make suggestions of fun things to do around Seattle and help make that happen. You wouldn't mind joining me for a volunteer day cleaning parks or greeting visitors at a museum. You have a good, if odd, sense of humor and you are active (a Kardashian marathon is not your idea of a well-spent evening) and reasonably organized.