45Columbia, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Born and raised in Boston but I fell in love with California when I was 14 years old after I learned how to surf. During college, I had thought about going to medical school or being a marine biologist but I wanted to wander the world with a surfboard first. So after a year of saving money, I set out around the world with a backpack, a guitar, and a surfboard. It took me three years to go around the world- started out in europe, went through Indonesia, Australia, New zealand. The guitar was occasionally used to make money by playing for change on the street in Europe and Australia and New Zealand. I worked a lot of odd jobs: as a taxi driver, a desk clerk in a youth hostel, a janitor, a cook, a pot-washer: whatever work i could find to make money to travel more. I spent a some time living in the south pacific and in Hawaii, and sailed across the Indian and Pacific oceans, working as crew on the yacht of an Englishman and an Australian that I met along the way. I found a job in a marine biology lab while surfing in Fiji, and that job took me to California where I ended up going to grad school. I'm interested in returning some day to help people in some of the places I travelled. I'd like to find a way to help people in a country where I can speak the language: perhaps central america or Indonesia.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a physician. Also recently started tutoring kids at an inner city school for high risk youth. I'd love to do international medicine some day too.
I’m really good at
staying awake
The first things people usually notice about me
My shoelace is untied. But no matter how many times I tie a double knot, it still seems to come undone. But I don't think i'm in danger of tripping on my shoelaces (knock on wood). It's kind of like the myth of the banana peel: do you know anyone who has ever actually tripped on a banana peel? It never happens!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: just discovered Punjabi (indian) music: the beats are amazing. I also like bluegrass, Irish punk rock (flogging molly).
Books: The Secret Life of the Lobster. I'm Down. I love Jack Keroac's writing too. I read the New Yorker a lot. And I think you could get an education just by reading the New York Times every day.
Six things I could never do without
My guitars (1979 Les Paul with a sunburst paint-job, and several acoustic guitars), my musical recording equipment, my surfboards, my kiteboarding equipment, my friends, my family, travell.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
science, medicine, what to eat next, what to cook for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
salsa dancing, or hanging out with friends or family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If you get to know me, I can tell you but I'm sort of a private person. I don't have any major secrets though.
You should message me if
i'm not really sure what this question is asking. Message me if you're looking for friends. If you like live music, and if you play music, that's a big plus too!
The two of us