34Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! I've been in Chicago a year and a half and still exploring/eating my way through the city. I spent my childhood in the Bay Area (go giants/niners!), went to college in Pennsylvania, and have stayed east since. I spent a few years in the DC area, then went back to school for my Masters in statistics at Virginia. Hence I've moved around a bit (and so glad I did) but despite this horrendous winter I have no plans to leave Chicago in the near future.

ESTJ (borderline E/I)
What I’m doing with my life
The typical 9-5 in the loop...I do marketing analysis in the CPG (consumer packaged goods) industry. I've taken up ballet classes recently as a replacement to gymnastics which I had been doing for a good part of my life and I've also joined softball and dodgeball teams. (Though I'm semi-retired from dodgeball since breaking my finger.) I don't take good weather for granted so I try to be outside as much as I can while it's bearable.

I absolutely LOVE the food here in Chicago. I'm in a dinner club with some girlfriends and every month we pick a new restaurant to try together.
I’m really good at
being introspective, split leaps, Tetris Attack (video game for SNES), and eric cartman impressions.

Things I'm bad at: drawing, sitting in traffic patiently, not eating easily accessible candy, decorating my apartment.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'd say people sense I'm fairly approachable and personable, fit and energetic (but not overwhelming). I've been told I'm refreshingly direct. Being a numbers person, I am pretty literal, but I'd like to think it's cute as opposed to awkward and robotic. :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I tend to read nonfiction - my two favorites are The Culture Code and The Happiness Hypothesis. I also love Dave Barry and Michael Crichton. I guess I'm more of a blog reader and like to mix it up with ones that are humorous and ones that try to explain human nature (particularly happiness) in a scientific and thoughtful/non-pretentious way.

I'm gonna throw in podcasts here - I listen to Adam Carolla pretty much daily.

TV: Old school I like Friends, The Cosby Show, Full House (no judging!), and The Nanny. Bringing us to this millenium...Mad Men, 24, Millionaire Matchmaker, Breaking Bad, Scandal. And I'm currently Netflix binging The League which is absolutely hilarious.

Note: I have never watched nor read anything that involves zombies or vampires.

Music: I like upbeat stuff, 80s, things I can dance to, Britney, Michael Jackson, etc...I'm not very deep about music.

Food: Good chocolate, sushi, seafood, brunch food. However I don't like bacon or tomato sauce which limits me on normal foods like pasta and pizza. Chicago does food so much better than DC so I've been living it up. I love trying burgers with random toppings like pears and eggs....somehow they make it work.
Six things I could never do without
my bed (biggest purchase ever), the CTA app, working out, having time to spend with my friends, my winter coats, water
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What aspects of myself are worth trying to change for self improvement and which are just ingrained in me and I need to accept.

I contemplate what draws us to certain cultural phenomenons and our reactions to them such as Jersey Shore, Facebook, Honey Boo-Boo, Miley Cyrus, etc. Not in a snobbish/I think I'm better than everyone way (I have a very live and let live mentality), but more to understand human nature.

Why my capitalistic bar is so long when I only answered 3 related questions.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at happy hour or ballet class
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've never received flowers from a guy. (One did send them once, but he forgot the apt number so they never made it to me.)
You should message me if
you are thoughtful, active, sociable and live in the city or are at least cta accessible (I don't have a car)
The two of us