Chocobsessed
26 Irving, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Chocobsessed
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hiya. My name's Bret, and I'm not ashamed to admit that I'm a geek.

I enjoy reading and watching movies (usually pulp sci-fi like Ender's Game or the Matrix) - as well as Anime and Manga (especially the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya), playing games of any variety (Video, Board, Card, Tabletop, etc.), and cooking (my specialties include Burmese Curry and Bacon Risotto).
What I’m doing with my life
I work full time, and spend most of my free time reading or playing Video/Board games with my friends. As such, I'm looking for a girlfriend who is actively interested in similar hobbies - either to join me, or introduce me to something new.
I’m really good at
Strategy games (I'm working on improving my Starcraft II and Warmachine skills at the moment), and reading quickly (it's gotten to the point where I burn through books so quickly that buying individual books is a poor choice)
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm only shy and quiet amongst people I don't know or can't really relate too - as soon as I judge someone to be a peer, it becomes much more difficult to shut me up than to get me to talk.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Video Games: Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy Tactics, and every Bioware game
Books: World War Z, the Wheel of Time series, and everything Neil Gaiman
Anime: Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (and -chan)
Movies: Matrix and Shaun of the Dead
Manga: Yotsuba&, and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
TV Shows: Firefly and How I Met Your Mother
Music: Nightwish and Paramore
Comics: Runaways, and anything by Ben Templesmith
Food: Thai and Sushi
The six things I could never do without
1. My kindle (although, the ability to be able to purchase and start reading a book within 10 seconds is very dangerous to my wallet)
2. My friends - whether they're in Texas, back at college, or still in my hometown.
3. My game stockpile - I always have something new (to me, at least) and interesting to play
4. My gaming stores - great places to hang out and meet new gamers, and learn new games.
5. The huge variety of restaurants in and around Irving and Dallas.
6. My Kitchen. I enjoy eating and making various Curries far too much to have to go out to eat them every time.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Game strategy, and the book or movie I've mostly recently seen. Sometimes work.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either going out to see a movie and grab dinner, or staying at home, playing games with my friends.
You should message me if
You're looking for a geeky guy to date, and especially if you recognize most of my favorite books/games/etc.
More