InAbsurdium
34 Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
InAbsurdium
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Treehugger, born in Manhattan but raised by artists in the woodlands of northern Michigan. Grounded, Extremely down to earth, open minded, and non-judgemental. Avid reader of anything and everything. Passed an entire childhood Reading and Drawing, with some skiing, sailing, and kayaking thrown in. Always trying to find the best angle to view Life from, a Self-Aware idealist, generally seeking and finding the good in other people. Well traveled. Not at all jaded by Life or past Loves. Lover of Nature and the out-doors, Animals, sincere people. Like all of us, Reveling in Escapist Fantasies but forever dragged behind impossibly Inflated Ambitions… when they all come crashing down you will find me Herding alpaca in the Southern Hemisphere.

I am a classic INFP, for anyone who subscribes to such things.

I'd love to meet someone who is into bicycling, hiking, and camping, I've got a great little ultra-light tent for bikepacking, and I've been looking for an excuse to get up to the apostle islands sometime this year.
What I’m doing with my life
Working on growing my decorative painting business. Trying to live Responsibly, Consciously, minimally. Not subscribing to gender stereotypes. Endlessly searching for the right people to fill my Life with. And, ya know, biking around the city, going on adventures, trying to take advantage of everything Chicago has to offer...
I’m really good at
I excel at Anything I do with my hands; my strong and skilled little paws. I've known all my life that I could never be fulfilled if I weren't creating something. Half of my apartment is a work shop filled to the brim with paint, woodworking tools, and metalworking machines.

Also, all the most important things in life... cooking amazing meals, cuddling, picking out avocados, not sweating the small stuff, and giving exceptional back massages.
The first things people usually notice about me
Ok, so I've spent about 9 years in long-term relationships, and the lasting impression I have left on pretty much everyone I have been with is that I am the sweetest, most giving/considerate and open minded person they have ever met, and also... that I am weird. I presume they mean weird in a goofy off-kilter sort of way, but weird is always the term that seems to come to their mind. So, I suppose I should just put that out there... be forewarned, I am weird. Better weird than boring though, and I've never once been guilty of boredom :).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'll read just about anything you put in front of me, but I particularly like non-fiction and historical fiction, philosophy, and academic writing. Anything that broadens my view of the world around me. I studied environmental sciences and political science in college, and still love learning about the way the natural world works. I also like classic science-fiction, whimsical pulp-fiction, and magical realism, like Murakami and palahniuk.

I don't really watch television, or own one, and I spent 2001 through 2010 without even a netflix subscription (I am really quite awful at pop-trivia games). I really love podcasts... radiolab, nightvale, mysterious universe, the moth, etc... Also, I just discovered this: http://www.filmsforaction.org/walloffilms/

One of my greatest passions is cooking. I try to prepare everything from scratch, and love trying new recipes and alternative grains... I have also been known to brew my own kombucha and belong to a raw-milk co-op. I was a vegetarian for 7 years, but cook with organic meat from time to time now.

Most of what I listen to right now is indie rock, folk, and psych folk. Midlake, Fredrik, Inara George and the Bird and the Bee, Elvis Perkins, Sun Kil Moon, Iron and Wine, Grizzly Bear, New Pornographers, Fleet Foxes, Destroyer, Beirut, Rufus Wainwright, Kishi Bashi, Andrew Bird, Beach House, the Shins, Modest Mouse, Norah Jones, Jason Lytle and Grandaddy, Joanna Newsom, Lambchop, Architecture in Helsinki, The Hidden Cameras, Noah and the Whale, Sparklehorse, Immaculate Machine, Okkervile River, Neko Case....
Life long favs include lots of New Wave, Elvis Costello, Bowie, Cave, Cohen, Reed, and my one true musical love, David Byrne.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dBVzKSZNCQ
The six things I could never do without
Ohh... Pounds of loose-leaf green tea from Ten Ren in China Town brewed with freshly chopped ginger, good healthy home-cooked meals full of vegetables, world-illuminating books, my bicycle, open roads, NPR and the news of the world, kind-hearted friends, warm sunny days and cool windy nights in the wilderness.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Hmm, so many things... evolution, geological time, ancient and pre-history, the multiverse, art, my work, my dreams...

How to be a spiritual being without necessarily believing in the metaphysical... I enjoy reading about Buddhism, Taoism, and philosophy, practicing meditation and yoga, trying to create my own personal mythology of the world... so much of life is just a reflection of how we choose to perceive ourselves and our world.
On a typical Friday night I am
hmm, probably reading, drawing, or cooking with someone... there's nothing more romantic than good chemistry in the kitchen, with reading out loud to one another in bed being a close second... maybe out to a movie, maybe at a show.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am an open book, ask and I'll answer. I have no shame, in part because I am proud of most of my goofy little quirks, and in part because I don't ever act in ways that would merit shame. I try to live without regrets, and without leftover baggage.
You should message me if
Go for it! No reason necessary! I am Always in search of other nice, weird, intelligent, geeky, earthy people to spend time with, and usually love people even more for their foibles and idiosyncrasies.
I am really not the kind of person who wants or needs to be impressed, I like kindness, sincerity, and warmth in those close to me.

Spring is almost upon us! Time for adventures, picnics, camping trips! It is the perfect time to jump back into the dating world. I recently took up rock climbing, and could use some climbing partners. I'd also never turn down a bike ride :).

I am on the edge of Humboldt Park and Wicker Park, and live near the blue-line, plus my work necessitates a car, so distance really isn't an issue for meeting people, as long as it is within Chicago proper.
More