Closer_To_Home
30 Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Closer_To_Home
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
NOTE: I'm lucky enough to have an amazing long-term relationship with a woman who is both open-minded and supportive. We have an agreement that we can occasionally have fun with people outside our relationship. That said, I have several really fantastic female friends I've met through dating sites (as in, 8+ years of friendship) and would love to form more meaningful friendships of this sort! I'm always good for an adventure, and if we feel an attraction I can potentially act on that. I say this so that women who are really just looking for romantic relationships know we aren't a good fit - but if something on my profile sparks your interest, please message me!

----------------

I've coerced one of my close friends into providing a description for me, although I guess that makes it a her-summary instead of a self--summary:

"I would say you are clever, open minded, and always up for adventures, fun, and mischief. You would be my go-to person for an awesome quote, an impromptu road trip to see the world's biggest ball of twine, or cooking partner if we wanted to see what the appeal of pig's feet was, anyway."

I'm still fairly new to Pittsburgh. We've only been here for about a year.
What I’m doing with my life
I started off in culinary school, moved on to something more computer focused, and then I spent my formative years working in the video game industry. I've since translated that into a career in corporate software because, you know, I'm an adult.

Every Tuesday, I instruct a historical European martial arts class at a fencing studio in Etna. Sometimes people even want me to travel to go train with and teach them in other states! Throughout the year, I travel to other states and even other countries to compete or help run events.

After swords, my main interests lie in food and, consequently, the outdoors. I have a goal to eventually provide 50% of my calories through growing, raising, foraging, hunting, and fishing. I did some math... it isn't going to be easy. Before I upgraded from Baltimore to Pittsburgh, I had the space for a large garden, chickens, and rabbits, honing my experience in those areas. Up here, I've recently taken up hunting, fishing, and foraging in order to develop those skills towards this goal. This isn't some survivalist or prepper thing; I just believe that I should attempt to source as much of the food I eat as ethically and cleanly as I have time to.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at: Cooking (but not baking), plowing through books (even terrible ones), judging the time, playing expert guitar and expert vocals at the same time on Rock Band, corralling chickens, and hitting people with metal sticks.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile. I tend to be smiling or grinning often, or so people tell me. I insist that they're just miserable and need to smile more.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book: Symphony of Ages (I cheated.. it's a series)

Movie: Black Dynamite

TV: No Reservations

Band: Extreme... or Dream Theater... or Grand Funk Railroad. It depends on the mood.

Food:
Almost anything. Seriously. I've eaten deep fried cow brains in Italy. It was the restaurant specialty. They kind of taste like that weird yellow fatty stuff you find in blue crabs. I've eaten things out of the woods. I've eaten weird stuff with no English labeling from the Asian grocery store. I'm totally up for trying cicadas. The biggest exception to 'almost anything' is cucumber; cucumbers come from Lucifer's garden. And I don't mean in the 'These are blasphemously delicious' sort of way.
The six things I could never do without
1) A gas stove.
2) An internet connection. Anyone who answers 'No' to 'Can you form a friendship with someone you've never actually met' might not understand me. I've made friends all over North America and Europe online and have met a majority of them over the years.
3) Airplanes. For getting places, because as much as we all 'fought' the waves when we were younger, the ocean is pretty insurmountable otherwise.
4) Land. I don't think I could live long term in an apartment or townhouse.
5) Pets. I have two cats, Spectre and Gadget, and one dog, Doebringer.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The human condition and the interpersonal topics that go along with it. There are a couple people I talk to daily, and we frequently end up discussing the intricacies of different types of relationships, culture and politics. It's funny how often we'll argue about something ambiguous for two hours only to find that we actually agree with each other.
On a typical Friday night I am
Attending Friday Night Fights at the fencing hall or exploring some park I haven't been to yet.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm slightly lactose bigoted, but I choose to ignore this fact most of the time. The pain makes me stronger.
You should message me if
If you are a Savage Love listener. If you're not, you should give it a listen.

You should message me if you're enthusiastic about diving recklessly into new activities and hobbies; you'll get tired of me if you are not down with that. If you are legitimately okay with the note I put at the top of this profile. If you are adventurous about trying new things.
More