27 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Kevin. People tell me that I'm like a big kid, because I've managed to hold onto a measure of enthusiasm that is pretty un-adult. I teach special ed, and draw and write fiction in my spare time. I also make awful puns.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a special education science and history teacher at a high school in the Bronx.

Besides that, I'm mostly at home drawing with my cat, or watching Showgirls or The Room or something with my roommate / best friend and sometimes my neighbors. I like to go out with friends, draw comics, read books, write books, spend time in museums or parks and spend WAY too much time on the internet.
I’m really good at
Writing stories, getting fired up about something I care about, making terrible dad jokes, looking hot in a skinny tie, being an insane cat dad, talking about my students like they were my actual children.
The first things people usually notice about me
I assume my Ben Wyatt-esque frame.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Midnight's Children, The Satanic Verses, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Invisible Man, The Street, Homage to Catalonia, 1984, Animal Farm, Native Son, most things by Toni Morrison or Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Kafka on the Shore, Slaughterhouse 5, Leaves of Grass, most of John Muir's essays, (and in graphic novels) Black Hole, Seconds, Osamu Tezuka's Buddha series, Will Eisner's Contract With God Trilogy, Hayao Miyazaki's Nausicca manga adaptation (mainly for the art), and basically anything by Gene Luen Yang, Craig Thompson or Alison Bechdel.

Movies: I like silent movies, corny cheesy bad campy B-movies, and have an almost embarrassing love of Up, Wall-E, and How to Train Your Dragon.

Music: Folk, blues, punk rock, indie rock, folk punk, pop punk, rap, opera, classical music and some pop and old (early 20th century) country. I don't have the time or the inclination to list all my favorite bands, but feel free to ask. :)

Food: Mexican, Indian, Italian, in that order.
The six things I could never do without
My cat, my friends, coffee, spending time outside, Mexican food, and a good book.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Genre fiction (fantasy, horror, sci-fi) and its connection to society's anxieties and attitudes.

Art as a storytelling medium.

My students.

Why so many of the questions on this site are about policing lady's bodies and choices. Who is coming up with these questions, and why are they so invested in micromanaging other people's choices?!
On a typical Friday night I am
Honestly? After a long week of lesson planning and grading, Friday tends to be my night in. I draw, read, write, play with my cat, and usually watch a movie by myself. I like to party it up with folks, but I needs my me time.
You should message me if
Compassionate, empathetic, creative and energetic people with an acidic wit are my bag. If you do something that makes the world a better place, or is creative in some way, please message me.

If you manage to do that all while being fucking KINKY, maybe a little androgynous, have freckles, and crinkle your eyes when you laugh -- just message me a link to the video for Dreamweaver?