51Warsaw, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Revised 11 Feb 2015

A lot has happened in the last two months. I lost my dad in December. We were pretty close, so it has been an ordeal. I was there when he had his heart attack, performed CPR until the paramedics showed up and saw him pass away when the doctors had determined his brain was so damaged there was zero chance of recovery. Now I am in Warsaw full time. My mom is not able to get around well, she is 81. Plus my brother just was informed by his doctor both of his carotid veins in his neck are mostly blocked. So.... he is going into surgery soon. Geez I hate drama. I am mostly in Warsaw, and it looks like I will be working remotely if I can find a job which allows for that, otherwise I will be doing my on-line sales business here. Plus I have 17 acres to take care of, a garden, a few beef if I can get the place fenced. So... I need help.

It is so difficult to be introspective and not be overcritical about yourself. So here goes. Much of my childhood involved several moves since my dad was in the service. So my home town is where I live now! I currently spend 80% of my time in Warsaw,MO where my folks are, they are in their 80's and need my help. I bought a cute little house in south Kansas City in 2006 and it is a work in progress; as am I. The goal for the house is where all the rooms are repaired and inviting to guests.

I am physically doing a whole lot better on my goals, still have a bit around the middle. My physical goals are hauling a loaded Ranger ruck twenty miles and run beneft 5k's regularly.

I have been in the information technology field since 1998. It is enjoyable to me and I likely will continue on this path. I think I enjoy it most because of the immediate satisfaction when I fix someone’s issue and they are able to accomplish what they wanted.

I am still using my IT skills, and broadening my horizons by creating and developing my own automated manufacturing machines. My Family and Friends Help Desk is still going strong, I get called when they have computer issues. Typically I can remote in and resolve the problem and educate a bit too.

I have had the opportunity to travel most of the US, with the exception of the Northeast. I really would like to go to Maine and ride a Windjammer for a week. Not to mention taking a few classes at the wooden boat school there. My roots going back several generations are from Southern Missouri. Living on both coasts was fun, but I want to visit Europe, mostly the British Isles, but other places too. Sailing there would be exhilarating in my own sailboat.

I like kids and animals. Plus I would like to have property where I could have some horses to take on trail rides. I am more of a rural kind of soul; I don’t wear a cowboy hat since I haven’t earned it. But my high school years I spent growing up on a 30 acre plot on top of an Ozark ridge with a lot of trees, chiggers, ticks, turkey and deer.

(It looks like I may end up on what is now a 17 acre plot, as my folks are in their eighties. We built two houses here and have set down some roots here. )

Looking at this summary, it is just a glimpse of me. I hope you want to know more!

(Here is a bit more, I am a jack of all trades and master of a few. I can do a lot of stuff, and have to choose what is more economical for me or others to do. I have had a superman complex for a long time, in the sense where I would try to save or fix any problem I encountered. Well... I have finally learned I can't. Damn humbling and quite a blow to me. I don't overtly have an inflated ego, the superman thing was brought to my attention by others. I was just doing what I have always done, save or fix what came my way. I am older and bit wiser now. )

(Finally, I truly would like to find the special woman to love passionately for the rest of my days. Is she out there?)
What I’m doing with my life
I am looking and finding activities I enjoy to do. I am renovating my property so it is inviting and comfortable, not a bachelor's pad but a family or couple's home. Additionally I am making it a point to get out and explore. I am trying to finish my Bachelor's at UMKC and spend as much time with my elderly folks as reasonable. They are in their 80's.

(The above is on hold until I can get income flowing from my small businesses. That is a significant reason I have not reached out more. I want to be able to treat someone well and not be a burden on anyone. Things are coming along. But being laid off is a real B!T$H.)
I’m really good at
Figuring things out, fixing things, building things, planning tasks in a logical manner. Troubleshooting, finding things on the internet and getting the best price for something I want.
The first things people usually notice about me
Ladies, Physically I have had many comments about my broad shoulders and strong upper body, I am trying to lose the excess fat just below that... I am easy to talk to, sincere and really dislike underhanded dealings with anyone. Men commonly notice my firm handshake, unfortunately if I am not thinking the grip is a bit more intense than I intend.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite Books: The Lord of the Rings, including the lesser known books and essays. Anything written by Tom Brown, Jr. Authoritative Books on the Celts.
Favorite Movies: The Quiet Man, Rudy, The Outlander, and 13th Warrior.
Favorite Shows: New Tricks, Kitchen Nightmares, Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes.
Music: everything except for rap and opera in a language I don't understand.
Food: Everything but smoked oysters.
Six things I could never do without
1. An energetic, joyful, optimistic partner who makes it a delight to come home.
2. Regular home cooked meals - I do cook!
3. A kitchen where I can find things
4. A house with at least two Bathrooms, personal space, in my case an office and garage. This doesn't mean others aren't wanted there, just a place for my stuff... remember George Carlin's bit on that?
5. The wherewithal to plan and do things, go places and enjoy life.
6. The security of having the standard of living I am used to or better as I grow older.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
A woman to cuddle up to.
The Future!
The future with a woman to cuddle up to
Projects I need to complete around my house, so it is comfortable and appealing.
My folks to do list when I visit. Pretty often of late...
How things work.
How to make things better.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday night I typically am hanging out at the house. Might go to dinner early or late. I try to schedule around lines and waiting.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am willing to admit in the past I was a private ;)
You should message me if
You are looking for A MAN, honest, sometimes too much so, with a dry sense of humor. a person who puts others needs ahead of his own. Who is looking for a warm, positive soul.
The two of us