46 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I feel like I am on a surf board in a wavy sea going up and down with the tide. Whenever I am up, holding the board tightly, I see and appreciate the beauty of life and everything provided to us or everything we acquired. Sometimes the tide is too strong to overcome and I slide down. Then I see the power and resilience of a man to overcome any difficulty. Sometimes the sea is calm and I enjoy the prosperous voyage. After every tide I feel more enriched with experience. So far so good in my life. I definitely enjoy the journey.

I am a big city guy enjoying the opportunities that metropoles provide: diversity, variety, medium for self improvement and socializing with friends to name a few. I grew up in Istanbul -which I am totally in love with- and then I moved to the United States. I have been living in Washington DC for 14 years except for three years that I passed in Boston. I enjoy both cities very much. I enjoy being close to my friends. After having graduated from grad school, I was lucky that most of my good school friends remained in DC so that we had a chance to keep close contact. DC is a really great city. At weekends, I enjoy walking or biking along Potomac river or having nice brunch in a café.
What I’m doing with my life
I am working in a prestigious International Organization in Washington DC with people coming all around the World. Since my childhood, I’ve had a deep interest in knowing other people and cultures. I certainly believe in mutual enrichment through cultural exchange to develop better understanding and to make the world a better place. I am proud of having friends with different backgrounds.

I also enjoy biking, hiking and doing outdoor activities. In addition, I like playing tennis, swimming and skating though I am not particularly good at them. When I was a college student I also tried to do Scuba diving and I might consider to start again. I also started to yoga few years ago and made it a part of my work out activity.

I also enjoy inviting few friends to home and organize small scale parties. I especially like organizing week end brunches. I am a “small group” type of person I do not enjoy big and crazy parties.
I’m really good at
Listening people and trying to find solution to their problems. I enjoy cooking. I don’t like ordering take away food to my home except for party occasions. I am also loyal to my friends. I still keep in touch with some of my friends from my primary school. I have an insatiable appetite for knowledge and I am really good at learning new things.
The first things people usually notice about me
Well I do not know! I am not a particularly handsome or good looking man. Ok I am trying to stay fit. Many people say I look younger than I really am. I can take that cause I still have thick brown hair which helps me to have a younger look. I also approach people with warm and sincere smile and strong handshake.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I am very loyal and regular reader of the Economist and Financial Times. As a result, they take good part of my time that I spend for reading. In addition, I like to read books about Economics and Politics. Recently, I read “This Time is Different” and “Lost Decades”. Once upon a time I was fascinated by Richard Bach and Leo Buscaglia books. My all time favorites could be Hemingway’s “Old man and Sea” I have been interested in Meditation for awhile. I particularly like Sharon Salzberg books. I am reading “Lovingkindness” and “Real Happiness: What meditation is?”. I also like Agatha Christie’s murder novels. They are excellent travel companions.:)

Movies: I like pretty much all kind of movies except horror films. However, I usually prefer independent or European movies. E Street Cinema in Washington DC is a heaven for people who love those kind of movies. Of course, I do not ignore Hollywood movies either. A nice comedy is great option for Friday nights. Few examples that come to my mind are King’s Speech, Other People’s Lives, Goodbye Lenin, La Vita e Bella (Life is beautiful), Stanno tutti bene (everybody is doing fine) (BTW: I am talking about the original Italian version with Marcello Mastroanni), Titanic. I also have few favorites from older times: Amadeus, Grease, La Boum, Ben Hur, Roman Holiday, Raiders of the Lost Arc, Silence of the Lambs, Jaws, Forrest Gump, Lorenzo’s Oil. I also like all James Bond movies.

Shows: You won’t believe me but I don’t watch television. I stopped watching TV more than 10 years ago and I am VERY happy about my decision. In addition, I don’t have TV at home and not planning to buy one. Occasionally, I watch DVD through my computer screen.

Music: I am a big fan of Classical Music. I use classical music radio station in Washington DC as an alarm clock which wakes me up in the morning. I do not have a definite period or composer that I specifically prefer. However, I think Vivaldi, Chopin, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky stand a bit higher than the rest of the community of composers. I have almost 1000 CDs at home and maybe 90% of them is classical. (Yes, I still listen music from CDs and I have no intention to discard them just to make a part of digital age). I also like Celtic Music: Hayley Westenra, Charlotte Church, Celtic Women (Meav, Chloe etc). In addition, I like Lara Fabian, Andrea Bocelli, Enrico Macias, Kathleen Battle, Sarah Brightman, Mario Frangoulis and George Dalaras. I do not know much about Rock and Jazz. However, I am willing to learn.

Food: I am little bit on the “gourmet” side. I am not picky about food but I am trying to eat healthy. I can eat anything provided that it is well made and served. I enjoy good wine and cheese. I am also a meat lover especially sea food. I can deal with a vegetarian partner however, I can’t change my diet. I don’t like junk food and don’t drink soda much. Those habits help me to stay fit. I like Mediterranean food and make it an important part of my diet. I equally can get never enough of sushi. I also like Italian and French cuisines.
The six things I could never do without
1. the love and support of my friends and family
2. a satisfying career that allows me to improve myself and make an impact on others
3. good food: nice wine, tea, cheese, olive oil and fish
4. my classical music library
5. bike, swimming and traveling
6. art and fine things in the world
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Well, that depends! Anything comes to my mind from “what to do in the next week end?” to “How the economic crises in Europe will end?”. However I am trying not to put myself in stress by thinking the staff that I can’t change.
On a typical Friday night I am
I enjoy hanging with my friends, going to happy hours, sipping a nice wine or watching a movie in a movie theater. A good steak or sushi dinner can be the prize of the long and hectic week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
This is my first time in an online dating site. I opened my OkCupid account in early March 2012.
You should message me if
If you enjoy life, have a positive attitude, honest personality and like to laugh you already have big plusses. If you have intellectual curiosity and willing to teach something to your partner and learn from him we are almost there! :) In addition, if you enjoy travelling, like good food, interested in participating artistic events such as plays or concerts you are definitely my type.