49Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Before continuing please read this:


I'm not very easy to summarize, and if you don't think you are either then we might be a good match. I've spent almost as much of my adult life living outside the US as living in it, and while I'm not living in DC for any of the usual professional reasons, I have no plans to leave either.

I love to cook, especially Spanish and Italian, have a huge interest in art history, and as long as the weather is cooperating I'd rather spend a day cycling than doing just about anything else.
What I’m doing with my life
Patent agent, technical translator, and software industry consultant (mostly in Brazil).
I’m really good at
Languages - among other things I translate professionally. I have excellent grammar, which is apparently rare here from the complaints I've been reading (second in frequency only to shirtless selfies), but rarer still I don't have a 'tude about it. I'll see your Oxford comma and raise you a New Yorker diaeresis.
The first things people usually notice about me
I bear a strong resemblance in person to the pictures I've posted here. You should too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Tulipomania - a history of the 17th Century tulip craze in Holland. You'll never look at a tulip the same way again.

Antifragile, the sequel to The Black Swan (not the psycholesbian ballet drama – the book that predicted the financial crisis a few years ago). Life-changing, if unrelentingly erudite, stuff.

And I can't leave out La Mimica Degli Antichi Investigata Nel Gestire Napoletano (Andrea de Jorio, 1832) You know how Italians tend to talk with their hands? Ever wish someone wrote a dictionary for it? Well someone did, and this is it. Every Italian I've shown it to reacts the same way: "Where did you get this book??"

Music: I especially like anything Brazilian, but will listen to just about anything once, especially live. Just saw Gilberto Gil here at Lisner. About to see him again, along with Caetano Veloso, in São Paulo. If those names mean anything to you, we should talk.

Food: I'll go out for (or preferably cook) just about anything, but am especially fond of Italian and Spanish.
Six things I could never do without
- My friends near and far
- Mountain bike
- Gluten. If you're "gluten free!" and haven't been professionally diagnosed with celiac disease, please move on, but before you do watch this:
- Telescope
- Properly made espresso (almost impossible to get in DC)
- Art
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Art, cooking, and my next trip to Brazil. I travel there a couple of times a year for work, and also have a five-year-old godson who lives near São Paulo.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having a drink or a meal somewhere in town, if at all possible outside.

Or coaxing the latest advance in German technology into English for a US patent application if I'm on a deadline. Which doesn't mean I won't be having a drink too.
You should message me if
...you'd like to actually meet, and very soon after mutually getting in contact.

...you don't have a picture of yourself tandem skydiving into Machu Picchu and landing in a yoga pose. Shirtless selfies aren't the only annoying photo subject on OKCupid :-) While we're at it, when did giant outdoor Jenga become a thing?

...you didn't lie about anything in your profile. Sorry in advance that I even need to say this...

...e se você fala portugues, o você é brasileira e mora aqui em DC o perto de São Paulo, por favor escreve! Várias vezes por ano eu visito o meu afilhado em Vinhedo, e gostaria muito te conhecer na minha próxima visita ao Brasil.
The two of us