29Davis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an East Coast transplant living the Davis life. I'm pretty fun to be around, and I try to enjoy the little things. I'm also a big ol' nerd, and I wouldn't have it any other way. I'm a night owl, and I'm GGG.

I'm basically looking for a companion. If we do fun things together, have mutual interests, and make one another laugh, the rest kind of just falls nicely into place. Ya dig?
What I’m doing with my life
Grad student at UCD, practicing real hard to be a grownup. One of these days, I'll be a big fancy professor somewhere.
I’m really good at
not to brag, but I've got a 62% win rate on FreeCell.
The first things people usually notice about me
my sense of humor, my not-quite-white ethnic mix, my smile
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I heart Kurt Vonnegut. I've also recently gotten into Tom Robbins (Even Cowgirls Get the Blues). Plus, whatever academic stuff I'm reading, and typically something nonfiction on the side.

Movies: Basically, I go for drama/action and comedy (especially satire but also dumbass dude comedies), and I could take or leave other genres. The Godfather, The Dark Knight, Her, Dogma, A Few Good Men, The Artist, Anchorman, Fight Club, and There Will Be Blood jump out. The folks at Pixar are geniuses.

Shows: Parks and Rec, Modern Family, Community, The League, Sunny Also, sports and Stewart/Colbert. Never have I ever laughed while watching Two and a Half Men.

Music: This one's tough. I still carry a torch for the stuff I listened to in high school (Brand New, The Format), but I've gotten less into alternative-rock stuff and am drifting into more indie stuff on the one hand (currently obsessed with the New Pornographers, Belle and Sebastian, and the Essex Green) and more bluegrass-y, country-y stuff on the other (OCMS, Avett Bros). I also really dig "classical" (really, Romantic and late-Romantic) music, and I will sing along, at full volume, to whatever Beatles album you put in the car stereo.
AND I just got a record player, which means I'm a SUPER COOL KID. If you have records, we should hang.

Food: I like eating things (homemade Italian is my comfort food). I've gotten pretty good at cooking, too. The only thing I won't eat is the thing that apparently only I am allergic to.
Six things I could never do without
--Airplanes. Because without them, it would be so much more difficult to see the wonderful family and friends I grew up with.
--Vonnegut's books. He gets me.
--My bikes. They're more than just how I get around.
--Beer. Mmm, beer.
--Baseball. Ask Ken Burns.
--Teaching. I really, really dig it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
language and how it works. Also, politics, government, and society. Whether I can work some humorous interaction I've witnessed into one of my classes.
On a typical Friday night I am
going out to bars with friends, hanging out, and not going too crazy. Or sometimes going just crazy enough.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I occasionally talk in my sleep (so I'm told). One time, during my freshman year of college, my roommate was on his way to bed while I was already deep asleep. All of a sudden, I shouted, "Let's do this! There's nothing stopping us...except maybe a few laws! Heh heh heh." I swear this is true.

Also, my hiccups sound like squeaks. I know, attractive, right?
You should message me if
you want to grab a drink, a meal, a bike ride, a frisbee catch, and/or a camping trip sometime.
The two of us