37Ottawa, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Artsy science nerd looking for someone to goof around with outdoors and in. Nature, museums, trivia, karaoke, board games, maybe some nerf gun fights… Into talks that are sometimes philosophical and nerdy/sciencey, a lot of the time just fun. Inappropriate humor.
What I’m doing with my life
Good job, good friends, on a quest to improve my fitness, some volunteering with a nature group, lots of past travels (like 6 months backpacking in south-east Asia). Have recently gotten back into drawing!

Future plans: Probably buy a bunch more drawing swag from Wallack's, some more travelling (found a snorkeling trip in the Maldives with GAdventures!!), get more comfortable with biking. Skateboarding!
I’m really good at
I get compliments at karaoke… I do consider myself somewhat better than average at dancing, writing and drawing. Retaining obscure facts and being smug at trivia, even if I only get one answer right... Collecting online zumba videos - seriously, my Pinterest zumba board is the very best. Making order out of chaos, or alternately injecting chaos into the situation (e.g. with nerf guns).
The first things people usually notice about me
If there is any music with any beat playing, I will probably be bopping along a bit to it, regardless of where I am, and also possibly humming/singing along with it. Sometimes full-on dance party at the bus stop.

As I walk along, I will regularly get distracted by pretty flowers and stop to look at/smell/touch them. It takes me a very long time to walk home from the grocery store in spring and I want an app that plans my route based on maximum flowers.

And apparently I have a contagious laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Reading: Mostly non-fiction – economics, psychology, history, art, science, biographies. Every issue of New Scientist magazine cover to cover. Used to read more fiction, SF+F – still have shelves of my old favorites I can’t part with. Some classics.

Movies + TV: Netflix addict - I am usually watching something with one eye while doing other things. Mysteries, comedies, period pieces, SF+F. An assortment of semi-recent faves: Dirk Gently, Orange Is the New Black, Scott & Bailey, Halt & Catch Fire, Galavant, Please Like Me, Community, Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, Big Bang Theory.

Music: These days mostly Latin/Caribbean dance music I've picked up through zumba, e.g. this: Also classical. Somewhat out of touch with what the kids listen to these days...

Food + drink: Vegetarian and I don't drink but I have nothing against drinkers and non-veggies. Faves: Indian, Thai, Mexican, and really good pizza.
Six things I could never do without
laughter, dancing, friends, sunshine, plants, color
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Planning events with friends. Slowing down and enjoying the present. Where are there lilacs between my place and the grocery store?
On a typical Friday night I am
Quiet night in with take-out and Netflix. In summer, maybe a walk by the river. Or board games, karaoke, Funhaven, or dancing at Babylon with friends, if I have managed to herd those particular cats.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I drool when I sleep. Sometimes I fall asleep on the bus and wake up drooling.
You should message me if
This-all resonates with you. You might also be a curious, rational science nerd who’s well-rounded enough to be into arts and nature and stuff. You’re reasonably positive and sane, you have an inappropriate but not mean-spirited sense of humor, you laugh out loud and have a great smile. You like hugs.
The two of us