36Ottawa, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Artsy science nerd looking for someone to goof around with outdoors and in. Nature, museums, restaurants, karaoke, board games, Mario Kart marathons, maybe some nerf gun fights… Into talks that are sometimes philosophical and nerdy/sciencey, a lot of the time just fun. Inappropriate humor.
What I’m doing with my life
Good job, good friends, on a quest to improve my fitness, some volunteering with a nature group, lots of past travels (like 6 months backpacking in south-east Asia).

Future plans: more volunteering (maybe with new immigrants?), some more travelling (found a snorkeling trip in the Maldives with GAdventures!!), being able to keep up with the power yoga class. Skateboarding! And learning to ride a bike, for real this time.
I’m really good at
I get compliments at karaoke… I do consider myself better than average at dancing, writing and drawing. Retaining obscure facts and being smug at trivia. Making order out of chaos, or alternately injecting chaos into the situation (e.g. with nerf guns).
The first things people usually notice about me
If there is any music with any beat playing, I will probably be bopping along a bit to it, regardless of where I am, and also possibly humming/singing along with it. Sometimes full-on dance party at the bus stop.

As I walk along, I will regularly get distracted by pretty flowers and stop to look at/smell/touch them. It takes me a very long time to walk home from the grocery store in spring and I want an app that plans my route based on maximum flowers.

And apparently I have a contagious laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Reading: Mostly non-fiction – economics, psychology, history, art, science, biographies. Every issue of New Scientist magazine cover to cover. Used to read more fiction, SF+F – still have shelves of my old favorites I can’t part with. Some classics.

Movies + TV: Lots of Netflix with one eye while doing something else. Mysteries, comedies, period pieces, SF+F. Some semi-recent faves – Orange Is the New Black, Longmire, Gotham, Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, Big Bang Theory, Sherlock.

Music: Kind of out of touch with what the kids listen to these days... Trying to be better at that... I know a lot of classical and some very random things like reggaeton. I can usually go for anything with some life, especially if you can dance to it.

Food + drink: Vegetarian and I don't drink but I have nothing against drinkers and non-veggies. Faves: Indian, Thai, Mexican, and really good pizza.
Six things I could never do without
laughter, dancing, friends, sunshine, plants, color
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Planning events with friends. Slowing down and enjoying the present. Where are there lilacs between my place and the grocery store?
On a typical Friday night I am
Quiet night in with take-out and Netflix. In summer, maybe a walk by the river. Or board games, karaoke, Funhaven, or dancing at Babylon with friends. Maybe quad skating again, once my ankles are all healed up.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I drool when I sleep. Sometimes I fall asleep on the bus and wake up drooling.
You should message me if
This-all resonates with you. You might also be a curious, rational science nerd who’s well-rounded enough to be into arts and nature and stuff. You’re reasonably positive and sane, you have an inappropriate but not mean-spirited sense of humor, you laugh out loud and have a great smile. You like hugs.
The two of us