39Saint Paul, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
In no particular order: I like to garden. (Mostly vegetables - I like the idea of playing around with the genetics of tomatoes, peppers, etc.) I like flowers, but I prefer them alive. (I'm trying to grow gladiolus right now.) I'm into photography. (Usually of small or otherwise unnoticed things.) I'm entertained by, and find artistic release in, 3D design and metalwork. I do origami to a higher level than average, though it was a bigger focus for me in the past. I enjoy mathematical toys and other puzzles that I make up while programming whatever computer I have. I enjoy traveling and spending time outside, even if the last few years of school have limited my experiences thereof. I tend to make/repair things rather than go to buy new ones. (Pretty much all of my furniture has been repaired, modified, or built from scratch.)

I'm ~50% deaf and lip-read to fill in the gaps. (If you're talking to me, you'll know I'm paying attention because I'll be watching/[staring at] you.) I enjoy people-watching. When I drink, I'm more prone to be entranced by the play of emotions across another persons' face. (It is even more likely if I am interested in them for some other reason.) I don't enjoy loud events or overly crowded scenarios and will often limit my exposure to a subset (relatively quiet corner) if found in them.

I don't go to the gym and 'work out', but I do maintain a walking habit and keep in good shape. I drink the occasional beer or other. I don't smoke or use any drug harder than caffeine.

I like cats and dogs, but I'm allergic to most cats and some dogs. ...and my paragraphs are shrinking.

I'm rather shy.

The emotional responses I have when interacting with females seem to help improve my outlook on life. Realizing this has led me to work towards developing more friendships with persons who happen to be female.

Hypothetically I would like to have a girlfriend, but realistically I don't expect that to happen for several years. Yes, you can ask me about that if you are so inclined.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working towards completing a PhD in biology. In my case, this is primarily computational biology. Theoretically I will wrap this up in the next year. This process occupies most of my time.

What happens next is a big topic of thought for me.

My garden occupies some of my down time. My tomato plants are doing alright. The peppers aren't doing much at all. The melons and squash are trying to take over the neighborhood. I've also got a thriving carrot patch that I am looking forward to harvesting from in the near future.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm taller than they are.
Soon after, some people have noted how 'intense' I am. It took me a while to figure out that this probably relates to my intense focus while lip-reading.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TVshows: Firefly, Dexter, Dr. Who, Castle, ...

Movies: Drama/action/sci-fi/effects... There are far too many movies that I've enjoyed. "The Big Lebowski" is a favorite which came up in recent conversation. "Battleship" is a recent movie which I really liked. If you've seen it, I was impressed by the side story. If you haven't seen it, you probably have no idea what I'm talking about.

Books: ... (There are really too many I've enjoyed reading thoroughly to list.) Hard sci-fi, mystery, ... I'm reading a cool book describing the history and practices of the worldwide floral industry.
Six things I could never do without
I would have put computer, as that is how much of my work and hobbies get done... but all my personal computers have gotten nonfunctional of late and I haven't had the time to fix them... so, obviously I can do without.

With my life experiences, the only things I know I could never do without are the boring things like food/water/shelter. I could even get by without shelter, if not for living in Minnesota... (I suppose I could build sufficient shelter if I had to...)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What's next. I'm almost done with my PhD and so I am thinking about where to go from here. Do I stay in academia and do a couple of post-docs then a professorship somewhere? Do I go to work for the government (CDC, FDA, etc)? Do I get a very high paying job in private industry?

Yeah, you're right... I should probably take a serious look at that third option.
On a typical Friday night I am
Trying to find some social (or near-social) activity. This might be hanging out with friends, going to a movie, or just doing origami at a local bar and chatting with the staff.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If you you ask me a question, I will answer as honestly as I am able.

This doesn't mean I will volunteer things freely, that I will talk with someone I don't care for, or that I will consider myself able to answer your question.
You should message me if
If you're interesting, give it a shot. If you find me interesting, give it a shot.

I may or may not respond. I may or may not even see the message in the week you send it. Sometimes (like lately) I'll get very busy with work/school/life and then OkCupid drops off my radar. I'll be back around at some point.
The two of us