Dash-h
44 Columbia, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Dash-h
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm the creative type who likes people who express their creativity in any number of ways, from music to writing to art to programming to any kind of imaginary ways of expressing oneself. And with a good bit of humor, to boot. A sarcastic vein is a plus. :)

I'm a gentleman. I value sincerity and like people who are authentic, straight-forward, honest and don't play games. Drama is a bore to me.

I'm a townie. I like living and working and hanging out in the city, but love ventures into the countryside -- rivers, mountains, beach, et al. -- to get away from the usual.

I'm also an individualist -- not really with the norm, and value people who are their own being. I'm not a hipster or other label -- just my own self.

I prefer people who think for themselves, have a creative bent, and know in their heart that gay people should have the right to marry. And pot should be decriminalized. (But I am not a smoker of. Maybe once or twice a year.)

I work at an ad agency, won several ad and design awards, and have a nice house ruled by a cat I rescued from downtown when he was a stray kitten. (I'm really a dog person, but my kitteh's cool with that.)

I've become a Gamecock football fan, but I love to watch soccer anytime. I like most kinds of music (excepting country unless its old or alt, and hip-hop unless its smart and not misogynist), like to see good bands, love to dance, and will one day figure out the meaning of life.

But for now, I like to enjoy good times with good people drinking good beer (or wine, gin, etc.) over great conversations -- with a tinge of inanity thrown-in just for kicks.

And sometimes the front porch or the couch bests a night out when it's time to chill and escape with a good book, a good movie or TV show, or marvelous music under a calm conversation into the wee hours.
What I’m doing with my life
See above summary, and in addition: I've taken-up landscaping the homestead and internal improvements as well. It's a slow process, believe me. Blah blah blah becoming a better designer and writing more than I used too, pick up my old guitar and play again, that kind of thing. But always learning. Love to learn something new everyday.
I’m really good at
Daydreaming.

And making people laugh and, once and a while, think about something new. I'm good at listening and sharing my thoughts.

Programming a play list for a compilation CD or party.

I'm really good at coming up with ideas and creative solutions. Like when back in college, fixing the carburetor with a toothpick and golf tee.

And sneaking out of work undetcted early on a Friday. (not that I can't leave early, it's just a litle game for me)
The first things people usually notice about me
My silly walk (I got a grant for it, I did!). Kidding -- Monty Python moment there.

I guess my eyes, then chin. That I listen well and make conversation funny when it needs to be, and sincere when it's poignant.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Geez--Italo Calvino, John Irving, Jonathan Franzen, The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse… American Beauty, Amelie, Run Lola Run, Spotless Mind, Star Trek (yes), artsy indie/foreign flicks, Breaking Bad, American Horror Story, Six Feet Under, Dexter, The Killing, Walking Dead, Voyager (yeah, all the star trek stuff), Battlestar Galactica, Firefly (anyone know that?)

Music-- jets to brazil. Spot on one of my fave bands. I like trip-hop, trance, dnb, folk, jazz, some choral and classical, punk is fun, EDM in genral is too. Spacey droney stuff. Exotica, middle eastern, Indian. But I can't stand Chinese opera (sorry, but I tried).

Food?!! What does food have to do with media?!! OK, any food that's awesome. Locally grown preferred.
The six things I could never do without
Art/Music
Friends & Family
NPR
Creativity
Good pale ales/IPAs/Porters/Stouts/Gin
Sincerity
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The next plants to put in my yard. Paint color combinations. All the things I need to repair in the house/car. Ongoing projects at work (you never know when a great idea will strike!). My purpose.
On a typical Friday night I am
Typically: HG happy hour with friends, or just myself to think, read or write -- outside table preferably. And Art Bar later. Unless there's an art opening or new movie at the Nic, or just a porch sitting to attend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You'll have to get to know me first, duh. But on this public forum, I'll admit:
I've never been to Congaree National Park (but want to!)
I was in an a capella troupe in college. Shoo-wop!
You should message me if
You want to. Simples.
More