53 Melbourne, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I know my own mind and I am happy with who I am. After a long marriage that ended in friendship, I now live alone at a house that it has been a lifelong ambition to own. I can swing in my hammock watching the birds in complete peace, nice.
I can smell clean air in the mornings and see the sunset in the evening. The night sky is dark and the stars so very bright. I appreciate the world around me and feel a sense of wonder at nature, love to be able to see living things that most people only see on TV or at the Zoo. I enjoy intelligent conversation and good company, not looking for a mother figure or another ex if I meet somebody I get along with soon, great, if not I can wait .
Life is for living and I will have a go at most things, the only limits we really have are those we impose upon ourselves so there are few things I won't try..
I dress for any occasion and depending on the circumstances I could be wearing jeans or a suit, I have a lot of leather jackets in different styles as I like to wear them. I am not a fan of the unwashed, I like my showers and I am really put off by stale body odours. I do a lot of work on my property and get pretty messy sometimes but I clean up afterwards!!
I'm also quite well travelled, been to lots of places across europe and indonesia, I do like to soak up new cultures, but I can't see the point of going to a place and sitting in a bar just like the one at home, eating the same food etc
I love to see new sights be they buildings, landscapes, people or wildlife.
I also love strong coffee, I like the occasional glass of a good wine, not a beer drinker unless its hot, never smoked.
What I’m doing with my life
moving forward, new things, new activities, new people. I'm not someone taken to living in the past on old memories, there is too much to do and so short a time to do it in. Have a lot of work to do on my property and I'm gradually getting it done.
I’m really good at
Physical things, artistic things and logical things. I can put my mind and skills to many activities. i love to work with wood to the extent that I rescue logs from the fire in order to make things from them. I have an artistic nature but a scientific mind.
Photography, portraits, special moments.
The first things people usually notice about me
I can look a bit intense, confident. My mind frequently works on more than one train of thought at a time.
I have warm soft hands, no idea why, considering how often I'm outside working.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
If I watch TV it is either for information on how to do something or for escapism. I like Sci -fi films and TV Stargate and TNG but also things that I can learn from like nature or craft docos. I like most forms of music with a preference for Blues/guitar/rock but not the crazy heavy metal stuff or anything that sounds like someone blowing a big horn in a giant shed-thats what it sounds like when kids have their earplugs turned up too loud on the train!
Very wide tastes for food, again I love to try things particularly spicy food. I do actually like to cook but not fancy stuff that looks like a squirt of paint on a lego block in the middle of a plate.
I have a lot of photography books, I like portrait work, Hamilton, Cartier Bresson and Bailey, plus any classic images from the 20s through to the 60s
The six things I could never do without
hope, faith, determination, friendship and communication. I know that is five but I was trying to figure out how to add my camera, lenses and computer as one item-going to say "imaging gear"
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The natural world around me, what my next picture will be of, the people I care about.
I avoid thinking at length on any item or subject which I can do nothing to influence or change at this time.
I think about long term things and the universe around me.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually ready for a change, something to interest the mind and feed the soul. I have a very active job with a lot of multi-tasking, I will give just about anything a go.
In the summer maybe the hammock for a while.
One thing I do when at home is make a curry which has become a bit of a regular item over the years.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I avoid organised religion, not really that private but it is important to me, I have beliefs based on a more Pagan philosophy.
You should message me if
You are interested in a quality conversation, think deeply, enjoy humour and find the world an interesting place. Enjoy visiting new places and revisiting older places. If you feel that spark of a kindred spirit and want to know more. You would need to be physically fit and quite athletic, I can keep up with pretty active people so I am not a couch potato fan.