46Bryn Mawr, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Huh? My story? Okay. It was never easy for me. I was born a poor black child. I remember the days, sittin' on the porch with my family, singin' and dancin' down in Mississippi, while the smell of waffles and Brussels sprouts filled the summer air. Sorry, wrong movie, but I digress...

Am fairly good natured with a bit of a sarcastic streak. Raised by women and still surrounded by four generations of them so I have a bit of a protective and chivalrous side. Should offset my stubborn side and hopefully the few and far between bonehead moments.

Enjoy keeping active and can be a bit competitive too. Would prefer to be doing something than sit in a bar all night. I'm all for enjoying drinks and stimulating conversation, but don't think that happens often in that setting. I do like to dance, but 'clubbin' it isn't really my thing. Now if I'm going with a good dance partner, that's different. But not from a singles scene point of view.

Could easily ramble a bit more, but that's what emails and good conversation is for.
What I’m doing with my life
Working, staying active and racing, smiling, laughing, spending time with those I care about, attempting to work on my house and just trying to enjoy life.
I’m really good at
-Sucking down Wawa Pumpkin Spice smoothies. They've been like crack lately.
-Anything tech related. Bit of a tech geek.
-Can pretty much go out and run 10 miles on no training. Pretty much what I do with the Broad St Run every year. My legs pay for it the next day though.
-Procrastination: I'll tell you about it later.
The first things people usually notice about me
My unusually long eyelashes or that they quickly feel comfortable around me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Lists are constantly evolving...

Food: Fresh peaches, figs and plums from my backyard. Sushi. Almost any red meat, rare with garlic, salt & pepper. carmelized onions. Peppers and onions. Fresh guacamole, almond butter. fuji apples. dark chocolate. strawberries. strawberries w/dark chocolate. almonds with dark chocolate. dried mango. Singapore noodles, General Tso's chicken steamed with brown rice, chili. Many things Thai, Indian and Mexican.

Authors: Anne Rice, Grisham, Steinbeck, Crichton, Stoker (Dracula is still one of my favorites), Kjelgaard, Frost, Shelley.
''Nothing in the world is single;
All things by a law divine
In one spirit meet and mingle.
Why not I with thine?''

Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Big, Patch Adams, White Christmas, Fight Club, Platoon, Full Metal Jacket, Empire Strikes Back, The Godfather, Braveheart, Clockwork Orange, Goodfellas, Usual Suspects, Iron Man, Gladiator, Across the Universe, Superbad, Hangover, Alien, The Fifth Element, Blade Runner, Planes Trains & Automobiles, Princess Bride, Old School, Caddyshack

Shows: Band of Brothers, Homeland, House, Big Bang Theory, Dr Who, Torchwood, Family Guy, Justified, Game of Thrones, Wilfred. The Food Network, DIY Network. Throw in a bit of sci fi like Battlestar, Stargate and Firefly.

Sampling of what's on the MP3 player: Eric Clapton, Billy Joel, Elton John, Coldplay, U2, The Killers, Alkaline Trio, Flogging Molly, REM, Arctic Monkeys, The Beatles, Peter Gabriel, Digital Underground, Colin Hay, David Gray, Goo Goo Dolls, James Taylor, Jack Johnson, John Coltrane, Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, Norah Jones, Natalie Merchant, Sarah McLachlan, Five For Fighting, CSN, CCR, The Cure, Cyndi Lauper, Def Leppard, David Bowie, Metallica, Zeppelin.

Broadway: Les Mis, The Producers, Wicked. Need to see Jersey Boys.
Six things I could never do without
I thought the best things in life weren't things...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why we're always putting our two cents in but only giving someone a penny for their thoughts.
On a typical Friday night I am
Can be out with friends or family, relaxing on the sofa after a long week, the guilty gym workout because of a long week, a good concert or movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was 8yrs old I peed my shorts in front of 350 Webelos at the Pine Wood Derby Regionals in Wheeling, West Virginia. True story.
You should message me if
You want fun company for a concert, show, movie or what not.
Have a somewhat healthy and active lifestyle.
Will actually join me for a jog, ride, hike and so forth.
Would like to introduce me to some of your interests.
Your weekends don't revolve around Rittenhouse Square & Old City
Have original thoughts in your head and can engage in healthy conversation.
Not many "demands" so to speak. Just seeking good chemistry and fun and see where it all leads.
The two of us