Duckered
28 Issaquah, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Duckered
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Life in the country + homeschool = a dude named me: a "function before form" and "it is what it is" kind of person, steeped in working with my hands.

Raised on a grain farm in Minnesota, college in Wisconsin (B.S. Double Major in Chemistry and Dance), moved here for ballet/contemporary ambitions. Now I work for an artist, welding aluminum/stainless/copper/silicon bronze sculptures and generally existing. My varied focus points to a generally expanding hodgepodge, not completely satisfied, but not in a tiff either.

Someday, I will have my own farm, with two dariy cows, three pigs/year, 12 chickens, a horse and a dog (plus one ferocious cat). The garden will be three acres, and there will most definitely be a root cellar. Ideally, in the first year, there's a mass planting of fruit trees, but it's not essential to the grand vision. The shop will have tools and projects, plenty of grazing acreage and at least some forested bits. Next to a river? Ok, that's asking too much. But everything besides the river is going to happen, if I get the river it'd be a bonus, but I won't pass up a perfectly perfect place if it's not next to a narrowish body of water.
What I’m doing with my life
Welding a whole bunch. Welding and metal fabrication have been my mainstays before, through and after college. Although I was on the path for a lab coat, tactile work has always fit me like a glove. My dream job is to instruct in a correctional/rehabilitation environment, but that might mean moving which I am admittedly not quite ready for.

Otherwise, usually stretching, or doing something unproductive to unwind. Always making a point to make myself at least one excessively delicious meal per weekend.
Weekdays are a mix of work, stretching, climbing and being a lazyfuckhomebody.
I’m really good at
Dancing
Whistling
Construction action
Singing
Green thumb
Rhetoric
Baking pie. Seriously, I make the best. They're pretty, delicious, varied and just fucking good!

...and welding: some aerospace quality aluminum, 6G(r) stainless and generally hot dime on dime action. A beauty all it's own, nudging a puddle of molten metal with 300 amps.
The first things people usually notice about me
Broad shoulders, bald, devilishly handsome(?), all around courteous and never clean shaven.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Watch: The only movie that I've completely loved from past to present is Shawshank Redemption.

Eat: Anything, everything.

Herman Hesse, Gene Wolfe

Strangers With Candy, Arrested Development, Seinfeld, MST3K.

Musak: Oodles, just oodles.
The six things I could never do without
Stretching
Movement
Small music device
My own space
I spend a lot of time thinking about
which side of the coin to land on.
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting a jump on some weekend climbing or backpacking, or cooking dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I made and own a Pokemon quilt. I do not, nor have I ever engauged in, Pokemon related ventures. I was however involved with a Pokemon fan, and had finished making the quilt top for her, when the relationship ended. She asked for the quilt, to which I replied (and I quote), "Hell no," and that's how I turned 14.

I realized I'm 27, and will be 30 in 2.1 years. Wow.

Socially laid back and personally intense, there is no better avenue for an expression of myself then touch.
You should message me if
If you're independent, self possessed, passionate and nice/considerate.

We're probably not a match if you:
-Work in marketing, sales or graphic design
-Are not generally nice/considerate, being an outright asshole is no go.
-Are generally pedantic
More