DukeofJuke
30 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
DukeofJuke
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Musician, agriculturalist. I abhor the dull and the safe. I love beautiful weird things that have no true utility other than to make you stop and wonder. Then again I consider myself incessantly practical.

Born and raised in Georgia. I don't have an accent. I'm not religious.

Upon graduating university in South Carolina as a bachelor in the arts of classical guitar and music composition I traversed the US on a 1976 Honda motorcycle to Oregon to study agriculture. No more classrooms however, I took a job as a farm hand.

I studied and practiced farming for four years in southern Oregon and in Portland while honing my bluegrass guitar and voice.

Then I moved to Uganda.

I worked in East Africa 2012- 2015 with HIV support groups. I trained people in agricultural best practices, income generation, and nutrition.

Now I'm back in the US.
What I’m doing with my life
Playing bluegrass. My band is about two months out from finishing our album, and when we're not recording or rehearsing we are playing as many shows as possible.
I’m really good at
Improvising. Like MacGyver.
The first things people usually notice about me
I look a bit like a viking. German-Swedish ancestry.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
historical lit, Buddhist philosophy. Palahniuk, Bukowski, Angelou, Krakauer are authors off the top of my head. Currently reading a book on electronics.

I was raised on classic rock and Beatles. I generally love all music; classical, 20's-to present, however exceptions do abound.
The six things I could never do without
The snooze button, a hint of lime juice in my water, the smell after it rains on a hot day, copious blankets on a cold night, a flexible work schedule.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how crickets are the protein of the future.
On a typical Friday night I am
probably checking ID's, shepherding drunks, and shooting the shit with Portland's finest (I occasionally work as a bouncer). Preferably drinking mojitos on tap and playing music around a camp fire.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I lived in an uninsulated garage for a winter here in Portland a few years ago. Concrete floor, my desk I made from a closet door, I parked my motorcycle at the foot of my bed. Those were the days...
You should message me if
you find me intriguing and cute. You think I'd find you intriguing and cute.
More