29Brentwood, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello. I just moved here from Chicago, IL.

I'd say the best way to describe me is focused yet spontaneous.

I am very focused in the sense that I understand very clearly all the things in my life that are important to me and what I am willing to do to protect, care for, and enjoy them. I am usually the person that people will go to find they have an idea because they know that I am the one who will be able to make it a reality.

However, I am still very spontaneous! I will always be able to figure out how to find time for a friend last minute. Like finding out at 10pm there is a meteor shower and if you drive for 1.5 hrs you can find a field in the middle of nowhere that would be perfect to see them and going even though you start work at 6:30am (that night was a blast). Sure my plans might not always make sense, but you have to enjoy life and do something "stupid" every once in awhile. And I enjoy all the surprises that life decides to throw at me, and look forward to seeing what the next will be.

I really enjoy being around other people and being active. It try to always make sure I have time in my week to both be outdoors (mountain biking, playing tennis, volleyball, etc.) and take time to relax (read, watch tv, play videogames, etc.). This is often tough with work, school, volunteering, and making time to be there for my friends, but somehow I manage.
Also, I am a very confident person. I have no problem making new friends and enjoy the person I think I've turned out to be.
I feel that too often these days being a jerk gets confused with being confident. As a result, it has become far too easy for guys to get girls by being jerks. I refuse to join this trend. It's never been my style and it usually attracts unconfident woman (which I'm not usually attracted to anyway).

My immediate family is just my parents, my sister, and I. However my extended family is very large (40+ cousins) and all of them are a blast. This (and largely the influence from my grandparents and parents) has made family a very important part of my life, and I am very close with all of them.

I am also very much just a big kid. So, whenever I meet a new little kid, I often end up being their new best friend. This also usually applies to dogs as well. I very much look forward to the days that I can be a husband and a father (and possible dog owner)! However, I'm not about to rush into it because that will be the most important thing I do with my life and I'm going to do it right.

Oh, and my name is Jake.
What I’m doing with my life
I graduated from U of I in 2010 and now currently am earning a Masters Degree from there by taking classes on-line.

I work full time as an Engineer and Head of IT. The company is called Meyer Tool and Manufacturing, Inc. and I really enjoy working there.

I live in my own apartment in Orland Park. I'll be here at least until I finish Graduate School and then see where live takes me.
I’m really good at
Using sarcasm, listening, and making people smile.

Being an Engineer, I am pretty good at math and physics. But I also really enjoy playing sports, and I am pretty good at most of them. I am probably the best at Tennis. I used to be very good at piano, I took lessons for 8 years as a kid. I have lost a bit though from not being able to play in college.
The first things people usually notice about me
I would say that the first thing people would notice about me is that I am very out-going. I like to meet new people and am not usually shy about it. As far as physical features go, It would have to be my blue eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Definitely love a good comedy first, and probably a Sci-Fi next. But truthfully I will enjoy just about everything. This goes for music as well, I like everything. Well, country would be at the bottom of the list though. And as far as food is concerned, I am not very picky, but I do not like seafood.

Favorite TV shows include: House, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The League, Firefly, Stargate, Spongebob, Scrubs, Community, Archer, How I Met Your Mother, and I'm sure a few more.
Six things I could never do without
1. God
2. My family
3. My friends
4. My sense of humor, that's not going anywhere
5. I have a lot of fun with my computers
6. Something to do. I like being active or accomplishing stuff
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I am a big day dreamer. Not really about anything special. Just random thoughts. I do like to have little debates with my friends though (especially if a bonfire is involved). They are usually completely pointless but they can include conversations about life, the universe, relationships, movies, videogames, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
Since I just recently moved to Nashville, my Friday nights have gotten pretty boring. Hopefully, I'll be able to start exploring the city more soon!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmm... That is a tough one. I am kind of an open book. So, there is not that much that is private about me. I guess I will admit that I am kind of nerdy.
You should message me if
I am usually very picky in the women I date. They have to amaze me and inspire me to do great things in my life and romantic things for them. It is hard to find, but I know it is not impossible. So if you are confident enough with yourself that you think you can be that person, you should message me.

But I always enjoy meeting new people, so you should message me if you just want to have a friendly conversation too.

If neither of those appeal to you, then I wish you all the best in life! :)
The two of us