32 Fairbanks, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First off I'm looking for friends. I am in a loving, committed monogamous marriage.

My name is Jessica. I am an anthropology major, contra dancer, folk musician, art lover, science nerd, bibliophile, nature lover, tea drinker, and theatre geek.

I'm not a party kind of person. At least not ones where there is drinking, smoking, or drugs. I enjoy spending time with people and hanging out, but I don't need drinking and drugs to have a good time.

I put my all into my education and am looking forward to attending grad school in a couple of years. I got a late start in college but I love it! I am also a researcher and am currently working on my second independent research project. I have presented at a national conference and am heading to another one soon.

I am a burlesque performer and love to be on stage. I often work on local theatre productions and other small productions as needed. I do a lot of special effects make-up and prop making. Of course I act too as well as stage manage and direct.

I am vegan, love the farmers market, and enjoy clean eating. This doesn't mean that I can't enjoy snack foods and junk once in a while, just as long as it's vegan of course.

I have a son is almost 7 year old. He normally is only with me in the summer, but he is here for the 2016-17 school year.

I love the strange. Honestly, I am pretty strange. Maybe it's because I study anthropology and find other peoples live, and deaths, interesting. Maybe it's because graveyards seem relaxing to me and the perfect place to read. Or, maybe it's because I have a full sized, anatomically correct model skeleton that lives in my dining room.

As I said before, I am in a loving and happy relationship. I'm not looking for anything more than friends.
What I’m doing with my life
Studying anthropology, contra dancing, playing folk/Irish music, questioning everything, enjoying nature, drinking tea, being a techie, reading, exploring.
I’m really good at
Making music, dancing, helping people, being where I am needed, listening, being positive, being supportive, being a techie, selling my soul to the theatre, caring, loving, hugging, acting, public speaking, keeping children entertained, baking vegan goodies.
The first things people usually notice about me
The fact that I am barefoot a lot of times or my tattoos and/or septum ring.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS- Hot Zone, Fever! The Hunt For a New Killer Virus, The Most Important Little Boy in the World, Virus Zero, Cry; the Beloved Country, To Kill a Mockingbird, World War Z, Skinny Bitch, The Hunger Games,The Lovely Bones, My Sister's Keeper, Orbit, Flowers for Algernon, The Poisonwood Bible, The Brief History of the Dead, 1984, A Heartbeat Away, Fahrenheit 451, The Every Boy, The Giver, Einstein's Dreams, Room, Shakespeare, many plays. My favorite plays are Happy Birthday Wanda June and The Goat or Who is Sylvia? MOVIES- Armageddon, The Men Who Stare at Goats, Spirited Away, Moon, House of Numbers, Howl's Moving Castle, The Lovely Bones, What Dreams May Come, The Rock, The Last Unicorn, 1776, Brigadoon, Microcosmos, Pleasentville, Benny and Joon, Donnie Darko, Scott Pilgrim vs the World, Boondock Saints, In and Out, The Decoy Bride, See no Evil Hear no Evil, Eternal Sunshine for the Spotless Mind, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Apollo 13, Babies, Children of Men, Pan's Labyrinth, Toy Story 1, 2, and 3. Zombie moves new and old, Army of Darkness (All the Evil Dead movies really), Shaun of the Dead, Frankenweenie (The black and white original). TV SHOWS- Eureka, Doctor Who, Firefly, Army Wives, Hot Set, The Big Bang Theory, Grey's Anatomy, Chopped, NCIS, Face Off, Jericho, House MD, Psych, Arrested Development, Star Trek (Original and TNG), Bones, Criminal Minds, Flashpoint. MUSIC- I listen to a lot of classical when I'm reading, working on a SFX project, working on the set or building props. I also listen to a modern Christian radio station sometimes. I also enjoy jazz, bluegrass, folk, Celtic, show tunes, electronic, techno, dark, oldies, and some pop music. FOOD- Vegan food, home made cupcakes, Thai food, pasta, rice, stir fry, mushrooms, good fresh bread, garlic in everything, fresh spinach salad (without tomatoes), vegan pot pie, veggies burgers and fries, stuffed peppers, Mexican food, bean and pasta soup, pancakes, onion rings, Chinese food, fried tofu.
The six things I could never do without
My reusable water bottle filled with water, cats, my glasses, books, contra dances, love.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Anthropology, how I can help people, the latest book I am reading.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing homework or working on a burlesque/theatre production. Or, doing homework while working on a burlesque/theatre production.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You're going to have to get to know me to find out. :)
You should message me if
Anything I said made you say, "hey, she sounds like a fun person to hang out with!"

Things most people find creepy don't creep you out.