Emily_MJ
28 Halifax, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Emily_MJ
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born in Vancouver and grew up in Toronto so I've kind of slowly made my way across the country from one coast to the other. I went to Mount Allison in NB before moving to Halifax to pursue theatre and photography.

Theatre and photography are my two passions but I also draw and paint a little when I can find time. I'm an avid reader and will read pretty much anything. I also adore travelling which is a great mix with my photography as I love exploring new places with my camera. I've been to 11 countries on 3 continents so far. The problem is I get to love once place so much I keep going back instead of somewhere new.

Career wise, I work half as an actor and half with my photography business. I work mainly in the theatre with my camera, photographing various productions around town and also doing headshots for performers, many of them my friends. I'm also very involved in the community theatre in Halifax, both on and off stage. I'm also very interested in makeup, both beauty and special effects and plan to go to Vancouver Film School for some training so I can add yet another career aspiration to my roster. To pay the bills I have several part-time jobs, all of which I have managed to grow to love even though they aren't arts oriented.

Most people describe me as a shy person and I've definitely embraced my more introverted side as I've gotten older. However, those who know me best (a few very close friends and family) know that I can be outgoing, imaginative and even a little odd at times. It can take a little time to really get to know the extroverted side of me which is why all my good friends are very patient I guess. I also think I have a pretty good sense of humour and can be fairly sarcastic at times, probably due to exposure to Monty Python at a young age.

My idea of a fun night would be more like a glass of wine and a movie rather than a beer and a party. I tend to avoid crowded bars and parties and prefer to just hang out with a few friends for dinner or games or movies. Though the occasional night out dancing is always a nice change of pace.
What I’m doing with my life
The arts! I've stopped pinning myself to one field because I much prefer the variety of doing it all! I've worked and plan to continue working as an actor, photographer, director, makeup artist, visual artist and whatever else comes my way!
I’m really good at
Photography, drawing, baking (vegan cupcakes! they are better than you think they are)
The first things people usually notice about me
My "cuteness" (according to my friends) and my green eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Blindness (Jose Saramago), To Kill a Mocking Bird (Harper Lee), Harry Potter Series (JK Rowling), Oryx and Crake/The entire Madd Addam series (Margaret Atwood), As You Like It (Shakespeare), Water for Elephants (Sara Gruen), Anything by David Sedaris.....and many many many more.

Movies: Breakfast at Tiffany's and anything with Audrey Hepburn, When Harry Met Sally, Enchanted, Kill Bill 1 & 2, Fido, Love Actually, Anything with Meryl Streep, The Sweetest Thing, Pleasantville, and Amelie are some of my favourites I can think of off the top of my head. I also love horror movies (especially really bad ones), most action movies and sci-fi and love disaster movies like The Poseidon Adventure and Towering Inferno.

Music: Walk of the Earth, Pomplamoose, Nataly Dawn, Hey Rosetta, Jason Mraz, Feist, The Beatles, Joel Plaskett, The Shins, The Decemberists, Lilly Allen, Regina Spector, pretty much anything.

Shows: Happy Endings, American Horror Story, Community, United States of Tara, Dead Like Me, Mad Men, Grey's Anatomy, Buffy the Vampire Slaye/All things Joss Whedon, How I Met Your Mother, The Big Bang Theory, The Newsroom, basically give me an HBO or Showtime show I will probably love it.

Food: French, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Greek, Anything my grandmother makes, I adore all food and will pretty much try anything as long as there are no mushrooms!
The six things I could never do without
My Mac
My cameras (I count all 3 of them as one entity)
Theatre & Art
Books
Family and Friends
Humour
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Travelling. I've probably planned hundreds of trips in my head. I recently got back from a 5 week European adventure and I'm already planning my next one!
On a typical Friday night I am
Staying in watching movies with some friends or reading or going to see some theatre. I don't like going out very often and if I do it usually for something fairly low key. Once in a while I am convinced by my best friend to go sing showtunes at Menz Bar for the night, which is always incredibly silly but amazingly fun!
You should message me if
You want to get to know me, there's lots my profile doesn't say!
More