44 Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’ve been in Madison for about 6 years. Before that I lived on the East Coast, on the West Coast, and in Eastern Europe. Now I lead a small team of enterprising human-beings in a non-secret, non-government laboratory that is not located in a hermetically sealed bunker far below a mountain in the middle of a secure compound in the desert. We do experiments to try to answer questions of fundamental and technological importance. The work is never boring.

I am kind, open-minded, fearless, and optimistic.

I enjoy spending time outdoors, especially in the Driftless area of southwest WI and in the western US (Rockies, Sierras). I have a slight addiction to flyfishing for trouts, but it hasn't yet affected my productivity in the workplace. I own a 17’ canoe and wonder sometimes if it would be suicide to try to take it to the Apostle Islands. Someday I will try snow camping.

I am a member of the Red Cross Gallon Donor Club. I have never been arrested, and to my knowledge have no active warrants.
What I’m doing with my life
I recently filed for divorce after I learned that my wife had been secretly engaged in various forms of inhuman fiery goat worship. I don’t care if it was “research” for a “novel”. I am eager to move on with my life. For the rest see above.
I’m really good at
Surviving in extreme emotional climates
Contour integration
Teaching cats to fetch little crumpled up balls of paper
Being a father
Free diving to incredible depths
Speaking crappy French with a Russian accent
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I used to read a lot of novels. Now I read of a lot of scientific papers for work. Every few weeks I read a nonfiction book. Carthage, Cathars, and failed polar expeditions are reliably interesting subjects. I read the New York Times to learn about what goes on in the world, and I read the LA Times when I am specifically interested in mountain lion or shark attacks.

I am a massive fan of the all-metal flange metal scene that grew up around Saugus in the late 80s and early 90s. Favorite albums include Chicken Burrito Black Beans by Itchy Doily, Bad Hair Day (No Bubblicious) by Mommy Train, and Non Compos Mentis by the Semper Ubis. Recently I have been listening to the German thin film deposition/deep house collective Sputteranlage; their concept album Mass Flow Kontroller is an underappreciated gem.

Films I like include A Touch of Evil, Badlands, Chungking Express, and Soviet comedies from the 1960s and 1970s.

I think that routines involving trained hedgehogs are a nice addition to any travelling circus. I especially like the one where the clown chases a tiny little hedgehog into a long skinny tube and a big spiky hedgehog emerges from the other end.

I can prepare 3 dishes with little or no adult supervision, one of which involves fried spaghetti. I enjoy eating most types of food.
The six things I could never do without
Wild places
Stable funding for basic science
Scallops wrapped in bacon wrapped in scallops (counts as 3 things)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lately I have been thinking a lot about the bizarre workings of the human psyche.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Even as a 4-yr.-old, my daughter had more fashion sense than me.
You should message me if
you like.