34Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First off, I am in a committed relationship. I am only here looking for friends.

Second, this profile is a little out of date. I currently reside in what I think could only be generously considered a DC suburb. I spend most of my weekends in DC still and am looking for friends in the DC area, but I am no longer WMATA friendly. :(

I am a recent West Coast transplant looking to meet new people and make new friends in the D.C. area.

Who am I? Well, among other things, I'm a geek, a nerd, a scientist and a dancer. I love to read science fiction and the occasional fantasy but my idea of a good Friday night is to go do something out and about with friends and acquaintances. I've been dancing for forever and love swing dance (lately I'm more of a westy). I can also get pretty whimsical for science. I drove thirteen hours and then pulled an all nighter to see the last space shuttle launch for example.

I'd like to find people to explore the national mall with, see a movie (possibly an independent film or a showing of a classic or "classic" at the AFI Silverlight), try an ethnic restaurant, go dancing or do all the things D.C. must be good for I don't know about yet. I'm always up for thrifting and vintage shopping. When I don't have plans, I'll be out dancing.
What I’m doing with my life
In the short term I'm trying to better myself daily and looking to find a path to maximize my happiness long term.
I’m really good at
Selecting science fiction stories that suit a friend's tastes. I can match you to the short story you have likely never heard of that you will find your life more complete for having read.
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair started going salt and pepper when I was 20.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love reading. It'd be easier to name favorite authors than books: Leiber, Asimov, Heinlein, Bester, Kuttner, Kornbluth, Moore, Padgette (yes I know that's the last two people combined into a psuedonym), George R. R. Martin, Jim Bucther, Pohl Anderson, Greensberg (best anthologist ever!)...you get the idea.

My top four favorite movies would be Shawshank Redemption, Casablanca, Wall-E and Dangerous Beauty.

Some of my current favorite shows are Community, Walking Dead, Dr. Who, Firefly, Venture Brothers & True Blood.

Lebanese is my comfort food.
Six things I could never do without
I've had some time to think about this and outside of literal survival needs my core needs for happiness are:

1) recreational challenges 2) quality partnered social dancing [preferably swing (west or lindy)] 3) a functional smartphone 4) social interaction and stimulation 5) scientific puzzles 6) good science fiction literature 7) friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to meet people in the "real world."

Having finally emerged from the academic cocoon, I also spend a lot of time thinking about what is truly important in life to me, and where I want to go from here.
On a typical Friday night I am
I...I actually have no idea what the answer to this is anymore. Not at home?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I miss having a job where people paid me to make flammable ice.
You should message me if
Did you catch the part where I'm only looking for friends? So if you're on board with that plan, pretty much any reason form there will do. Chances are good I'll respond, at least to say hello.

There are a few pieces of "home" I'm looking for, so if you know an excellent bibimbap place, authentic Chinese food or a great Lebanese place within an hour of me please let me know.
The two of us