71 Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
What a joy it is to keep living, loving and learning! Meeting new people and trying new experiences add so much to the joy. All that’s missing is sharing it with that special person.

After 30+ years as a medical social worker and 9 years as a realtor, I’m mostly not working though I’ll keep my real estate license active to help those folks who would like to work with me. This year I realized a long-held dream (my 65th birthday present to myself) and spent this summer volunteering at several state parks in Washington state. So lucky to choose one of the hottest summers on record in NC to spend in the Pacific Northwest. Serving as a camp host and as an interpretative volunteer presented new challenges for me, new opportunities to learn and beautiful environments to work in. Actually, it didn’t even seem like work. Old growth forests, beaches and people enjoying camping. What’s not to like? And this winter back in North Carolina it’s a time for enjoying my adult children and terrific grandsons and catch up with friends.

I enjoy family time with my sons, grandsons and sisters; quiet time (I am an avid reader); RV traveling; learning; intelligent conversation; working in an around my house; almost all music; the wonder of our world; card and board games; Carolina basketball; comedy; plays and movies (preferably not violent or creepy ones) and some TV shows.

I lean toward liberal ideas and really do not like prejudice of any kind. I have no time for negativity and hostility. Laughter is my drug of choice and a necessity in my life. By nature, I am a supportive and empathetic person.

I hope to do more traveling in my RV and would like to find a non-smoking companion who would also enjoy exploring new places. I don’t have any specific expectations for a long term relationship other than hoping to find a true and honest friendship, one that can develop slowly over time with trust and equality. Letting a relationship develop in its own time and direction is more my style than rushing toward a specified outcome.

I am ever positive, accepting, and loving life. As to religion, I’m a Methodist by upbringing and affiliation though not an active church-goer. My faith is personal and I find god (or the great spirit) in moments throughout the day and in many different places and people.
What I’m doing with my life
Just enjoying each and every day, learning to play the Native American flute, trying to simplify my home environment (living in a 30’ motorhome for 6 months led me in this direction), reading, surfing the net, working in my yard, taking care of my 5 month old grandson and making memories for the other grandsons (campfires, museum trips, etc).
I’m really good at
Listening, laughing, staying calm in the midst of crisis
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Mysteries, native American history/fiction, Wired magazine, sci-fi
Movies: The African Queen, UP, lots of others; Netflix for interesting TV series and British shows; biographical films
Music: 60’s rock and forward to today; Native American drum & flute, Drum & Bugle Corp, New Age, World Music
The six things I could never do without
Family, the beauty of nature, faith and hope, the written word, my computer and the internet, "doing"
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How amazing the world and life are; what life will be like for the next generations and what I can do in this regard; what I need to do to continue living healthily and independently
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing at home, visiting with family or friends or walking the campground
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Prefer to discuss private things within the context of a relationship.
You should message me if
you would like to meet someone who is other-oriented rather than self-oriented, share some of the same interests, would like to share some of the same adventures and experiences around our country and world, believe love is possible but also would enjoy friendship.