50 Silver Spring, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Fun-loving, adventurous traveler through life attempts to dip her little toe in the unknown waters of internet dating. I'm a DC-area native who has lived overseas and who now lives in a diverse suburb that has great ethnic food. I've been divorced since 2012, and I'm looking to meet people, learn things, enjoy life, make friends, and hopefully find a partner, eventually. I share custody of 3 great school-age kids who are tons of fun, drive me crazy, empower me, and teach me new things. I'm looking for someone who is thoughtful, enjoys talking, likes exploring and learning new things, and has a positive view towards the world. I'm feeling upbeat and am looking forward to meeting people.
What I’m doing with my life
Making friends, learning about myself, enjoying my kids, staying active, trying to keep my house in shape, working at an interesting (sometimes) federal job, trying to learn how to do salsa and bachata dancing, remembering my travels and looking forward to more eventually.
I’m really good at
Reading, writing, editing, researching, empathizing, caring, multitasking, exploring, learning new things, finding interesting things to do, having a good time, did I say multitasking?
The first things people usually notice about me
I have no idea. I can't be objective on this one. Maybe that I'm tall-ish and talk fast? People also say I have a nice smile. Some people have said I have an accent, which is strange since I'm a Montgomery County homegirl.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Barbara Kingsolver books
He, She, and It by Marge Piercy
I Don't Know How She Does It
Many mystery series
Hunger Games series
Other dystopian novels
Many others I'm probably forgetting

Lawrence of Arabia
Year of Living Dangerously
Maria Full of Grace
Deconstructing Harry
Winter's Bone
Love Actually
Gran Torino
Fast Times at Ridgemont High
Mad Hot Ballroom

The Americans
Orange is the New Black
The Walking Dead
Game of Thrones
Jane the Virgin
Downton Abbey
Grace and Frankie

--A big variety, depending on my mood
--Upbeat 80s/90s music -- Stuff I remember from high school and college
--Foreign music -- Middle Eastern, klezmer, Balkan (Goran Bregovic or similar)
--Pop stuff, mainly due to my kids' influence (or am I using them as an excuse?).
--Some dinosaur rock if I'm in the right frame of mind. I'll admit to Led Zeppelin and the Eagles. The best concerts I ever went to were by the Rolling Stones.

Japanese, Middle Eastern, Latin American, Indian
I tend to lean towards veggies and seafood, but I can still recall an amazing steak meal I had in Zagreb. Thinking of Zagreb reminds me of the yummy black risotto I had on the Adriatic coast. I was raised by foodie parents, but -- as with music -- I know less about the quality of food/dishes and more about what I like.
The six things I could never do without
My kids
Learning (including travel)
Freedom (not in the disastrous GWB-chickenhawk-let's-invade-Iraq sense, but in the sense of being grateful, as a woman, that I live in a place where I have certain rights and those rights are generally protected)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
--How to ensure my kids have a rich, healthy life. (By rich, I don't mean finances, necessarily.)
--How to obtain and maintain balance in my life
--Friends, family, romance
--How the world might end (yes, I'm a big catastrophizer)
--How annoying and appalling the political system has become
--How to make things better in this country and the world
On a typical Friday night I am
With my kids, out with friends, on a date, out dancing, keeping my mom company, or home relaxing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I may tell if you ask in the right context.

Also, I have an aversion to run-on sentences that persists despite my attempts to rein it in. That's not to say that I don't write run-on sentences sometimes. Life just isn't fair. :-)
You should message me if
You find my profile interesting
You're looking to enjoy the DC area
You're adventurous and like to try new things
You enjoy conversation
You'll send me a message that's at least a teeny bit more than, " Hi, how r u?"