50Burnsville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I want to find someone who shares my interests in life or wants to explore each other’s interests together. I love reading, movies, watching (some) sports, walking, photography, writing, travel, and going for walks. I love trivia and appreciate a partner who is well informed and follows current events.

What I want is simply to find a best friend who enjoys spending time together. Once we've established that we can figure it out from there.

About me. Ready list – GO!

I am –
- a bit of a nerd
- often sarcastic
- a dad
- an animal lover, although I have no pets
- funny (at least my mom tells me I am)
- liberal
- retired (National Guard only – I still have a day job)
- driven
- charming (at least I try)
- an over user of parentheses
- a sometimes traveler
- homeowner
- a bit of a potty mouth

I am NOT –
- artistic, no matter how many times I’ve tried to be
- fond of drama
- a player
- unemployed
- a smoker
- a liar
- a hunter (what the fuck is Duck Dynasty?)

I work in IT Security within the healthcare industry. As mentioned earlier I spent almost 28 years in the National Guard and have recently retired. I have been to Iraq. It was not fun. Being in the military does not automatically make me a right wing douche nozzle, although I met quite a few.
What I’m doing with my life
mostly making mistakes - but I'm encouraged by George Bernard Shaw's quote - "A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing."
I’m really good at
I think I'm a good conversationalist and loyal friend. I'm good with all that techy shit (you have to go on more than one date with me before I will fix your computer though). I hate to admit that because although I am a nerd, I'm not socially inept.
The first things people usually notice about me
When we meet, I will remind you of someone you once just happens...more times than I can recall.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love to read. I mostly read science fiction and fantasy. Personal favorites include Tolkein, Weis & Hickman, and George R.R. Martin, Stephen Erickson's Malazan series. I also enjoy reading non-fiction, mostly biographies and history. I have recently been enjoying audiobooks during my workouts and commute.

I like most movies and enjoy going out to the movie theater or staying in and renting movies. Favorites include The Usual Suspects, Shawshank Redemption, Apocalypse Now, Resident Evil series, Boondock Saints, The Big Hit, Taken, Band of Brothers, Shrek, Shaun of the Dead.

Netflix and Amazon Prime have ruined regular television and having to wait a whole week for the next episode. Breaking Bad, True Blood, The Walking Dead, The Big Bang Theory, Game of Thrones. I also see way too much Nickelodeon and Disney.

I enjoy music, but I'm not a huge audiophile. I can listen to most types of music, although I don't really understand or "get" rap and hip hop. What can I say, I'm a 40 something white guy from the suburbs. Jumping in my "wayback" machine, I actually did enjoy going to small clubs and listening to live music. Maybe you know of a good venue you can share with me?

I enjoy most food and am not a picky eater. I am stereotypical man though - steak, pizza, (good) beer and I'll be set. I do enjoy dining out and trying new places.
Six things I could never do without
I have decided that I hate this section so I'm boycotting it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Getting my home ready for my new kitten who is joining the family this summer.
On a typical Friday night I am
Fridays are reserved for hanging out with my kids. Saturdays I am either going out with friends, reading a good book, writing, or doing housework in the nude with the shades up.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am a computer gamer...but wait! Don't run away yet! I played a lot when I was younger, but I've put away my toys now and only take them out for short periods. I no longer ignore real life to play video games.
You should message me if
I waited until the end to talk about the deal breakers...not those I have for others, but the ones that seem to be keeping me from finding someone.

1. I live in Farmington - yes it is very far south. Apparently to many of you city girls I might as well live in Iowa.
2. I have younger kids, which means that half the week is pretty much off limits for dating without finding childcare, etc. Thus I can not be as spontaneous as I would love to be.

I'm hoping I can find someone who can live within those limitations, or is as busy as I am. Is that you?
The two of us