FemmeGeek7
39 Mount Pleasant, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
FemmeGeek7
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My friends tell me that I'm the most social introvert they know, that they admire my creativity and toughness, that they know I'll stand up for them against any challenger, that I am always their first choice teammate for trivia games, that my penchant for throwing random French phrases into conversation is cute even though they roll their eyes at it, and that working in a hospital has given me a really weird sense of humor. :)

I love hosting dinner and drinks for my friends (or enjoying Charleston's plethora of dining options), visiting my family (even though they're far away), running, cycling, and taking walks with my fantastic dog, the entire experience of going to the movies (which was a big deal when I was a kid and still feels like a treat), drinking a pint (or two) and talking theology at the pub with friends from church (I go to an awesomely offbeat church), TV shows that engage my brain and my soul (bonus points if you know where the quote in my headline is from), and having a job that allows me to meet some amazing people and make a real difference in their lives as I learn from them, too. (Clearly, I also love overly long sentences! I'm a writer, and that's one of the complaints I often get.)

I'm looking for a man who loves his life, too, and knows that finding someone to share the joys and halve the sorrows will just be icing on the cake, someone who dreams big but knows how to enjoy a quiet evening at home as well, who has passionate beliefs but keeps an open mind, who enjoys new adventures both locally and abroad (travel is a must), who can laugh at life and at himself, who knows his stuff and wants to keep learning, who loves dogs (or at least the one I have) and children, who shows remarkable kindness even when there's nothing in it for him, who will be proud of his partner's achievements and give her a lot to be proud of as well. At this point in my life, a serious long-term relationship is the goal of dating. If that scares you, then we are looking for different things. And if you think a woman's role is to be submissive and silent, again that is not me. I love the quote, "Well-behaved women rarely make history." I have my own ideas and want a partner who has his, too, even if they're different than mine, so long as we respect one another as equals. A passionate argument never hurt anyone, and might even lead to good things. :)
What I’m doing with my life
I do crisis counseling and grief support in a hospital setting. None of that is as sad as it sounds. I love it all and meet amazing people and actually think it's pretty kickass!
I’m really good at
Besides my job, writing (and just got a publisher for my first book to prove it!), trivia (my team almost always wins), foreign languages (I'm fluent in French, and have at least dabbled in Spanish, Italian, Hebrew, and Greek), taking care of my dog, and organizing things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books are probably Jane Eyre and To Kill a Mockingbird, but there are too many others to pick! I have very full bookshelves. My favorite recent movie is Guardians of the Galaxy. I love the original Star Wars trilogy and lots of 80s classics, as well as "chick flicks" like Bridget Jones's Diary and Jane Austen films. I'm a big movie buff. My all-time favorite TV shows are Firefly, LOST, Friday Night Lights, and The West Wing. I love watching reality shows on TLC (a guilty pleasure) and The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. My musical tastes are pretty eclectic, but lately it's a lot of Florence & The Machine, Sara Bareilles, Adele, Ben Folds, and others. The last concert I went to was Mumford & Sons last year. I love Thai and Indian food, or just a really good burger at Poe's or Sesame, and of course fresh local seafood.
The six things I could never do without
My dog
My iPhone
My bicycle
Photos and scrapbooks from my travels
Chocolate
Good wine
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What country I'd like to visit next. So far I've been to Canada, France, Germany, Austria, Luxembourg, Italy, Switzerland, England, Israel, and Egypt.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out for dinner and drinks with friends, or home with my dog, a good book, and a bottle of wine. That's if I don't have to work. Having a job in a hospital sometimes means working weekends!
You should message me if
You're also kinda geeky
You love dogs
You have an opinion on the Oxford comma
You have a quirky sense of humor
You enjoy thinking about the big questions and reveling in the small pleasures of life
More