40Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm basically a fire-spinning gothboy gamer-geek art fag.
I am pleased to be part of the resurrection of vaudeville. I'm a member of the Boston Circus Guild. Generally my acts are based on doing stuff with fire, but I want to start incorporating more sideshow, like glass walking and beds of nails. I have interesting insurance.
I quit smoking seven years ago. Maybe the most disappointing thing about being an ex smoker is that I don't look quite so much like Spider Jerusalem.
My favorite thing on NPR is This American Life.
As a child I wanted to be a vampire when I grew up. Obviously, that hasn't worked out so well.
I love nature and the natural sciences in the Victorian way, meaning that I love things in bell jars and I'm fascinated with zoology and biology and the like. I'm not so keen on tromping about and getting the nature all over me.
I love long, hot showers.
As I'm quite fond of Victoriana, I like Steampunk too.
My venus flytrap is named Hibbert. He is a constant disappointment to me (compared to other venus flytraps). However, none of my other plants, carnivorous or otherwise, have names.
I'm completely uninterested in sports. I don't hate them, but the periodic aggravation caused me by hordes of drunken sports fans has left me with a pretty strong negative association. I do have a couple friends who enjoy all things sporting. I think they're weird.
What I’m doing with my life
I went to art school for painting and have a background in theater, but decided I don't like how money and art mix. When you need to sell the painting you're working on in order to pay the rent or eat, I think you make poor decisions. I decided to end my foray into freelance illustration when I realized that I didn't really care what the client wanted and was going to paint what I wanted regardless. I still needed to make a living, so I went back to school.

Currently I'm a dental lab tech (I sculpt dental crowns and bridges). It's difficult work with a high learning curve, but I'm hoping to get to the point with it where I can support my basic needs with a minimum number of hours of work, freeing me to focus more on my art and other interests.
For the past few years I've been very involved in fire spinning and object manipulation. I make a little money performing gigs and teaching. I also sell the occasional painting, though between teeth and spinning I don't have much time to paint these days.

I just went to Burning Man for the first time. It was an amazing, powerful experience, and I have every intention of going back, though I don't think I'll be able to make that happen in 2012.

I just got a sewing machine, which is pretty exciting. Initially I just plan to use it to sew the crotches and asses back together on a lot of my old pants (doing it by hand takes forever), but eventually, when I've become more comfortable with it and have learned more, I'd like to try building my own costume pieces and club wear. With, you know, all my extraneous time.
I’m really good at
I grow carnivorous plants. I'm a decent painter, particularly with oils. I like hobby games involving polyhedral dice or toy soldiers I can paint. I ride a bicycle in Boston and have managed to escape serious injury thus far. I spin poi, rope dart, and hoop; I juggle, contact juggle, and can eat and breathe fire. I can escape from straitjackets, hammer nails into my nose, and walk barefoot on broken glass.
The first things people usually notice about me
No idea. I'm taking a survey. I'll get back to you on this.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite authors: Neil Gaiman, William Burroughs, H. P. Lovecraft, C. S. Friedman, J. R. R. Tolkien, Clive Barker.

Television: Farscape, Dr Who, Mythbusters, the Daily Show.

Music: Sisters of Mercy, Frontline Assembly, Faith and the Muse, Crystal Method, Bitter:sweet, Lady Gaga, Shpongle.

My favorite webcomic is Darwin Carmichael is Going to Hell:
Six things I could never do without
Coffee. Music. Poi. Sketch book. Tight pants. Cats.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Ideas for art and performances. Whatever new spinning or object manipulation thing I'm trying to learn. Sex.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately, stuck at work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I never got around to getting my driver's license.
You should message me if
You're interested in meeting me. The paradigm here seems to be that men bombard women with messages, and women then pick and choose which ones to respond to, which I think is pretty tiresome. Also, gender roles annoy me.
The two of us