FlyingOblique
28Oxford, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
FlyingOblique
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a Texan, raised in Yorkshire, currently living in Oxford.

In my free time I go for walks, I read (philosophy and short fiction, mostly, especially Latin American fiction), I practise tai chi, I keep up with politics and I argue with people on the internet. Some of my hobbies are more productive than others.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working as a private tutor and freelance researcher, preparing to start a Masters degree in London next year. Oxford is pretty great, but I miss the buzz and energy of the capital.
I’m really good at
Talking at (un)welcome length about literature, politics and philosophy, listening to people talk about literature, politics and philosophy, cracking wry jokes (some of which are even funny) and being interested in people.
The first things people usually notice about me
My accent. Born in Texas, raised in Yorkshire, lived in London and Oxford.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:

Current favourites -

Latin American fiction. Everything by Roberto Bolano, particularly Savage Detectives. Ditto Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Autumn of the Patriarch is my favourite, Hundred Years of Solitude is also great so far. Next up, Love in the Time of Cholera.

Wolf Hall. I was expecting a nuanced and detailed treatment of history, but I wasn't expecting the beautiful prose.

The Goldfinch. Probably the best treatment of Las Vegas that I've ever read. Fun plot, too.

Sci-fi. Banks, Stephenson, Cixin Liu, Gibson, list goes on.

Movies:

I thought Inception was pretty solid, and The Princess Bride is the most quotable thing I've ever seen. I also liked the recent adaptation of Macbeth, minus the accents.
Six things I could never do without
1) Internet access.

2) Books. Because sometimes you don't have internet access. I'm also into material culture, and I like the feel of a good hefty tome.

3) Decent food. I'm not much of a foodie, but I care about what I eat.

4) Conversation. Online or in person.

5) Friends. I don't make friends easily, so I value my friendships a lot/

6) City life. I need activity and access to civilisation. I don't think I'm cut out to be rural.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Whatever I just read on slatestarcodex, thingofthings or love, joy, feminism.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading a book in a quiet cafe, visiting friends, arguing on the internet.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My taste in music is terrible.
You should message me if
You think we could have an interesting conversation.
More
The two of us
--
Dating
--
Lifestyle
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Sex
--
Religion