65Westfield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Semi-retired life-loving, compassionate, confident, upbeat, enthusiastic, physically fit. I'm financially secure, open minded, perceptive, self-sufficient. I enjoy both the simple and finer things in life - camping on a boat or in a suite at the Four Seasons. I enjoy dressing to flatter my figure whether it be jeans or dressy (do not own a little black dress - bad for my coloring! LOL)
I enjoy a wide variety of "inside" activities such as having intelligent conversations, watching sports, cooking, dining out, going to movies, museums and the performing arts; I love the outdoors, too, where I ski (both downhill - adv intermediate; and cross country), snowshoe, canoe, sail, hike, tube, snorkel, mountain bike (beginner). My creative energy is directed towards photography where I’ve been a serious hobbyist since the 70’s. I am active in two local camera clubs and compete in international competitions. Sorry to say I'm not a golfer. Never had the time.
I am very fit, health conscious, and stay in shape by going to my gym regularly (I'm a former exercise instructor); I especially enjoy yoga, lifting free weights, kick boxing and step. I am not a slave to exercise; it is just part of my pursuit of a healthy life style to promote a youthful heart, body and soul.
This is what I live by: To see life as a glass half full, rather than half empty and appreciate every day a Higher Power gives me. I don't sweat the small stuff because the big stuff puts in all in perspective. I don’t wait for opportunities for learning and activities to come to me; I make my own. I know that I am responsible for my own happiness. A life never lived is a life lost.
I enjoy volunteering, participating in fund-raising “walks” and being a mentor. Sharing my wisdom and life experience with young people is something I would like to do more of; Giving is better than receiving especially if you're giving it to someone you love.
I've traveled the world both for pleasure and business. I’ve never been on a cruise (except sailing the Stockholm Archipelago on a 33’ sailboat) but would like to. Have only been to 8 of the Smithsonian's "28 places to see before you die" - I'd like to see the other 20 with a special guy. I really love to travel and it is important to me that a man I have a relationship with be willing and able to see the world.
What matters most to me? To have harmony and balance in my life (the agreement between what I think, say and do), my son's health and happiness, to lead a healthy life style, having security, having an honest, respectful and loyal man to love me and to be able to pursue leisure activities that make me smile – pursuing my hobby of photography, going to the gym, viewing the arts (visual or performing), trying out a new activity/sport/recipe and world travel.
I would like to find a friend and partner who appreciates my intellect, interests and independence. I'm looking for someone who cares enough about himself to remain fit, trim and active. Chemistry/mutual attraction is important. I'd like to share some laughs, conversations, and activities and adventure with someone who has a joy for life. I'm not clingy and will give you your space and time to be yourself. I'd love to share some time with a special someone who would enjoy such activities as tubing down a river, canoe a quiet lake, sailing on the ocean, taking a hike/bike or horseback ride, skiing in the woods, accompanying me on photographic journeys, attending a theater/concert performance or art festival, being lazy at a picnic on the lawn of Tanglewood, shopping at a mall, or just enjoying a grilled dinner and a glass of wine by my pool. At this stage in my life, I would rather gather "experiences" rather than "things." I'm interested in someone who can be an equal partner with me in life's journey.
What I’m doing with my life
Got laid off in April of 2013 and now have a part time job so I'm semi retired. I'm an officer in two camera clubs so four evenings a month from Sept-May I attend meetings/programs and executive board sessions. I enjoy showing my work in galleries from time to time. I go to my gym as often as practical. Since my son no longer lives with me and is officially "launched", child rearing activities are past; I don't have any grandchildren. When I relax at home, my two cats are usually at my side. In the spring/summer and fall you can find me doing yard work and going on photo field trips with friends. Sometimes I give myself "assignments" and then head out on my own adventure. I'm not one of those women who have to go in couples and groups to do anything!
I really like to travel, whether it be in our beautiful New England and USA or internationally. There is so much to enjoy right here in our own backyard!
I love to challenge my brain by learning new things, whether it be a new photo editing program or keeping up with current events and the world around us. I am a member of Mass Audubon and the Trustees of Reservations. I have a secret desire to volunteer at an animal shelter. I would also love to be more involved with my sorority alumnae in their philanthropic activities.
I’m really good at
I am an accomplished amateur photographer and have been published and I compete in international competitions sponsored by the Photographic Society of America. Juggling a busy schedule, maintaining my house by myself. Being flexible and independent. Laughing at your old jokes. Listening. Trying a new recipe or trying new foods.
The first things people usually notice about me
my blond hair, trim physique, that I look younger than my chronological age and confident walk.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: It is much easier to say what I don't like because I am willing to listen to most everything. But do not like rap, heavy metal, or country vocals. I like pop, rock, New Age, classical, blues, jazz, ethnic. Enjoying classical comes from the fact I used to play French horn (through university).
For movies: independent films, documentaries, dramas and comedies. I also like the sci fi genre and historical films. So I guess that means most of what is out there!
Food: I am not a fan of greasy, fast food. I focus on healthy eating. I enjoy all types of cuisine from vegan, Mexican, Italian, Thai, Indian, Vietnamese, to a good steak. A glass of pinot grigio or pinot noir completes the meal. I am not a beer drinker but don't mind others who do like beer. Never acquired the taste.
I love live theatre and the ballet but it is difficult to enjoy if you only go by yourself.
Books: My news, arts, photography, health, travel and financial magazines. I enjoy novels and non fiction that Oprah has recommended. A real newspaper which I read every day.
TV shows: Bones, Grimm, CSI, NCIS, Mystery, Masterpiece Classic, Big Bang Theory, NOVA, Nature, theatrical presentations - made for TV movies. I wish Seinfeld was still on!
What about radio? I only listen to NPR: intelligent discussion of the events of the day and analysis.
Six things I could never do without
My son, my friends/family, a positive attitude, my freedoms which our wonderful country guarantees, my health and my vehicle (just being practical)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Seeing the glass half full, not half empty. Getting the most out of my day. Also where to visit to take unusual or creative photos, where to go on my next great adventure, how to improve my photography, how to be a good friend to all my friends. Being thankful for everything positive in my life. Preparing healthy food.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going to my gym to take a Centergy class (combination yoga and Pilates). A great way to end the week with stretching/strength and relaxation. I may cook myself a healthy meal and watch a couple of favorite TV shows or catch up on reading my magazines. Once in a while I may be reading a novel.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That I had otoplasty when I was 21 to correct my ears that stood way out. Still allergic to earrings. Really. Saved a lot of money over the years. LOL
You should message me if
you have a well written profile and a photo. I do not respond to men who do not put up a photo. A non smoker. You should be interested in modest travel and have the time/interest/funds to do so.
The two of us