30Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My username stands for The Second Most Interesting Man In The World. At least, that's my goal. (Second, of course, to the Dos Equis Most Interesting Man In The World.)

I'd love to be a modern Renaissance Man. While I'm pursuing this dream, I tend to be a rather laid-back & witty conversationalist with a penchant for various good music & good food.

My ideal place to live would be where the front door opens into a city and the back door leads to wilderness and mountains, which is probably why I enjoy Pittsburgh so much.
What I’m doing with my life
Some of my current hobbies include skiing, motorcycling, travel hacking, ballroom dancing, cooking, CrossFit, and learning Spanish. I'm trying to tread some line between adrenaline-boosting excitement and more cultural activities.

I suppose I work during the day, but that's not particularly exciting. (But if you're screening me for grown-up qualities, I do have a 9-5 with a 401k, etc.) My dream job is to open my own business, preferably one I can run remotely, allowing me to travel the world. I did just accept a new job in Pittsburgh, so I guess I'll be here for at least a little while...

Next countries on travel list: New Zealand Australia.

I also have a goal to stand on every continent before I turn 30. 5/7 so far. It will be 6 by the end of the year.
I’m really good at
Witty comebacks
Being a carnivore
Planning adventures
Discovering odd music genres
The first things people usually notice about me
My upbeat personality and marvelous (and well-groomed) beard, but perhaps also my acerbic wit.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I go through periods where I read every day and others where I hardly touch a book. I just finished A Song of Fire, and I like similar good fantasy. I've been in the middle of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance for about 4 years. I also read the occasional pop thriller and finance-related non-fiction.
Currently Reading: The Charisma Myth

I love seeing films in theaters, and I enjoy myself despite being highly critical of some movies. I enjoy the typical guy-movie intelligent thrillers and action stuff, but I like to see some limited release movies every now and then. Also, as far as I'm concerned, there were only 3 Star Wars movies, 3 Indiana Jones movies, and 1 Jurassic Park.
Last Watched: Captain America: The Winter Soldier

TV Shows:
Netflix binge watching is what I do now. Was watching House of Cards and Game of Thrones (political intrigue whoa!). Breaking Bad, White Collar, Archer, and Walking Dead have also held my interest.
Currently Watching: Game of Thrones !

I have eclectic tastes but listen to a lot of celtic rock, weird industrial stuff, electronica, European heavy metal, and whatever dumb pop the kids are listening to (I hate myself for it, but I love mindless summer anthems). I also love musicals and anything you can dance to.
Current Favorite Band: Bellowhead

I eat a loosely paleo diet (low carb; lots of meat and veggies), and I'm a decent cook with a recipe in front of me.
Currently Eating: At Meat & Potatoes downtown as often as possible. Best. Brunch. Ever.
Six things I could never do without
1. New adventures. Give me a time, place, and activity I haven't tried and I'll be there.
2. Live music, preferably an Irish band at a pub or a metal show at some dive.
3. My motorcycle: Honda Nighthawk, but a Ducati would be nice when I get money.
4. Intelligent conversation. I'm known to debate a point just because it's fun. I promise that it's intelligent debate.
5. Good beer. Rochefort #6 is especially nice.
6. Halloween

This isn't a biology question. If you're answering with things like "food" and "water," you may be missing the point....
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How can I get to Antarctica without spending $10,000?

Why is almost every girl on OkCupid a vegetarian? It's not that I have a problem with your eating choices, but I like to cook, and I like to cook for people.
On a typical Friday night I am
With friends, probably at a bar, or staying home and playing board games. Sometimes there's alcohol, and sometimes there isn't. Although frequently I'm traveling in some capacity, possibly visiting friends in a different city or seeing a concert.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Wasps terrify me. I think I would rather fight a bear than deal with a wasp.

However, I think I would rather fight a bear than do many other things. Imagine the awesome stories you could tell!
You should message me if
- If you want to share travel stories.
- If you want to check out new restaurants.
- If you love trying new things, including but not limited to new foods, new music, and various sundry new adventures.
- If you look awesome in a leather jacket.
- If you're a manic-pixie-dream-girl.

It would also help if you like beards.
The two of us