35Albany, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I guess it's about time to update this. I'd hate to have you read this and realize that I clearly haven't updated it ever. So anyways, hi! I'm an engineer living in the Albany area, but my home will always be Atlanta. I spend a decent amount of time trying to stay informed - I really don't like not being aware of what is going on in the world. So I listen to NPR, and read the news pretty often. I really like playing racquetball, but this is apparently something that people do in college and when they're like 80. Since I'm neither it's hard to find people with whom to play. I'm also a runner... I'm training for my second half marathon. I'm a sports fan, but mostly baseball and college football.

I don't hate the bar scene, and I like going out with people... but I generally prefer more tame activities - exploring new restaurants and bars in the city, playing board games with my social group, going to play trivia, and playing poker.

When it comes to dating on this site, I'm more looking for people to actually meet and have real life conversations with. I don't want to message back and forth for weeks before meeting. You can only find out if there is chemistry in person, and I'd rather know sooner rather than later. If I message you, it's likely because I think you're cute and nothing in your profile scared me off. But I want to get to know you in person.
What I’m doing with my life
Working, running, sleeping, playing with my cat. I play trivia once a week, but need more people to do things with!
I’m really good at
Science!, racquetball, trivia, board games, drinking coffee, singing "One Week" by the Barenaked Ladies... probably other things too!
The first things people usually notice about me
I truly haven't the slightest idea.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV: Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, The West Wing (and all Sorkin), cooking competition shows, 30 Rock.

Music: Rock and Alternative from the 90s on, A Capella, Jonathan Coulton / DaVinci's Notebook.

In fact, as much as I love music, I find that recently I don't listen to as much as I used to.

Books: Asimov, Card's Ender and Bean Series, Arthur C. Clarke.. I like well written characters and interesting story lines, and I appreciate the challenge of writing them in a world of your own creation. It's incredible what good Sci-Fi writers can do. I also have just started getting into some non-fiction. I just finished "Command and Control" about the history of nuclear weapons and their safety. It's remarkable how close we have come to disaster.

Food: Thai, Mexican, and Mediterranean. I could eat a good red curry or Pad Thai for every meal. That or a good Gyro with some hummus. I'm a food snob when I cook, but not generally when I go out.
Six things I could never do without
Intellectual Stimulation (I'm a news junkie)
My car (I don't like being confined to a single area)
An internet connection (how did we get by with newspapers?)
Sunlight (my office has no windows and it's horrible)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The world, my future, religion and metaphysics, other things that are interesting...
On a typical Friday night I am
Trying to get some friends to go explore a new bar with me! Or maybe trying to set up a poker night...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll tell you anything you'd like about me - in person...
You should message me if
You think we might get along and you'd like to meet. If I think we'd get along (as friends or more) I'll message you at some point!
The two of us