GabeR2012
34 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
GabeR2012
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Reflecting on adulthood (or whatever this is!) I've realized that, while I tend to think hard over most of my decisions, almost all of the best things to happen to me have been the result of saying yes to a sudden opportunity, even if I wasn't 100% sure.
What I’m doing with my life
Working for a software company that's solving some very interesting and critical problems. Perfect job for an English major, right?

Outside of my day job, I've been lucky enough to be involved with an incredible outdoor education program and help organize an annual Golden Gate Bridge fundraising swim.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!, mountaineering disaster books, anything by Wallace Stegner, Rudyard Kipling, or PG Wodehouse; Moby-Dick, Confederates in the Attic, A Story Like The Wind, Jitterbug Perfume, and Look Homeward, Angel. I'm also in a book gang (like a book club, but more hardcore) and we read all kinds of interesting things. Up next: Gilead.

Movies: I don't see too many movies (something to do with an aversion to sitting still) but the short list includes the original Star Wars, Breaker Morant, A River Runs Through It, Blazing Saddles, and Grandma's Boy.

Shows: I can go long periods without, but Game of Thrones is outstanding. Breaking Bad is pretty great so far as well.

Music: Warren Zevon, Jackson Browne, Johnny Cash, The Band, Dire Straits, Emmylou Harris, Lyle Lovett, Robert Earl Keen, Bob Dylan, Raina Rose Trio, Rebecca Loebe, Ray Charles, John Denver, Ian Tyson, Tim O'Brien, The Blind Boys of Alabama, Old Crow Medicine Show, The Avett Brothers, and, when I'm feeling reckless, a little Neil Diamond.

Food: I love seeking out, preparing, and sharing great meals and am always up for something new, especially hole-in-the-wall ethnic joints. I know the location of the hands-down best Mexican restaurant on the planet, and I make a pretty mean gumbo if I do say so myself. My favorite kind of food is high quality, low pretense, with a tendency towards rustic. But sometimes, you just have to have In N Out.
The six things I could never do without
Reading material

Dog time: I don't have my own, unfortunately, but I love visiting/borrowing friend and family dogs. I like pretty much any dog that doesn't get carried around in a purse, but have a special affinity for Australian shepherds.

Open space

Coffee

Exercise

People: I'm lucky enough to have a close-knit, wacky, and very loyal family, and friends of all ages who teach me things, remind me of what's possible, let me know when I'm screwing up, and introduce me to new interests.
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting together with friends to eat and drink, possibly followed by some live music, a night hike, bowling, karaoke, or just hanging out and being witty and cultured.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It wasn't until the age of 31 that I learned that coffee cake is something you eat with coffee, not a coffee-flavored cake.
You should message me if
Any of the above resonates. Especially if you are passionate about something, know a great joke, want to undertake a quest for the best taqueria, or like to hike/climb/swim/paddle to new places.
More