GarthSimmons
35 Manchester, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
GarthSimmons
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Artist/Pattern Designer living in Chorlton.

I like wearing colorful clothing, not having a beard, reading, walking, cycling, animals, Soren Kierkegaard, watching tv shows whilst exercising, cuddling my cat Claude.. and getting things done.

There are lots things that I've probably not listed but these are the things that immediately sprung to mind.
What I’m doing with my life
My life at the moment involves a full time temp job and a full time art/design freelance career. The latter is quite surreal and seems to exist outside my physical existence as it's all email correspondence and the arrangement of segments of light on a screen. But it's going very well even though the accolades and the money, that randomly falls from the sky, into my Paypal account does not feel real in contrast to my normal admin job and my small flat. So there is a lot of disparity in my life at the moment. But it's nice to feel that after 10 years of arty aspirations I can potentially look forward to proper full time self employment one day soon.

I'm also editing together a massive collection of very short stories I've written... I'm trying to keep that as a fun creative hobby rather than the visual art which I take far too seriously... but unfortunately I'm starting to take the short stories seriously... maybe I've just got a serious head.
I’m really good at
I've recently become really really good at democratically organizing my mind into doing the right thing and not being selfish. I didn't achieve this through meditation or therapy or the usual methods but through self diplomacy and compartmentalization. It's very nice.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Doesteovsky, Camus, Margaret Atwood, Kierkegaard, Phillip K Dick, Christopher Priest, Nabokov, Nathalie Sarraute and loads of others. I've not been reading so much lately as I don't get public transport anymore.

TV: Rectify, 6 Feet Under, Breaking Bad, GoT, many of the usual HBO american tv shows that people watch on Netflix. Like British shows like I,Claudius, Doctor Who, Blake's 7, The Tudors and other historical dramas, Dennis Potter stuff... again I'm not too restricted by genre.

Music: love a bit of synth music and tend to veer more towards electronic stuff these days. I like the texture of it and it's good for doing my data entry to. Also love new classical music like Phillip Glass and Arvo Part. Still into bands as well like The Cure, Fad Gadget, Caberet Voltaire, Nick Cave, Beck, Metric, Ramona Lisa, Ladytron, Bobby Conn and loads of others.

"Loads of others" seems to be repeated quite a lot in this section. I don't really believe that similar cultural tastes are very important in finding a match as I like to share interests with people and have a form of exchange. Though it's nice to initially have some common ground and a similar aesthetic.
The six things I could never do without
1. Hope.
2. Motivation.
3. Eyes.
4. Kind creatures - especially my cat Claude.
5. Art.
6. My lovely friends who are actually incredible and who I probably don't spend quite as much time with as I should.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Philosophy, ethics, different modes of reality, all the cool shapes and textures that can be found visually everywhere.
You should message me if
I'm very much open to meeting new people if I think I might get along with them and in terms of romance I think you can only really tell once you have met someone. Also most of the women I have gone out with have all been very different to one another so I don't tend to go for a type and cliche as it sounds it is all about chemistry for me. Also I don't think I fit into the boundaries of anyone else's preset ordinary type so it would be unfair of me to fit my potential future partner into any preset parameters. Someone with good hobbies and interests would be good.
More