24 Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Well Hello There assorted OKcupid peoples. I have just moved to Middlesbrough and I'm hoping to make some friends here :) I've just graduated and so, no longer being a student, I don't have geeky student societies to rely on for friend finding any-more!

I love my cat. I wish I could have brought her up here with me, ah well.

I've just started my first job as a Support Worker.

I have feminist and socialist values and I'm learning to have a whole lot of fattitude! Oh and there's the vegetarianism. I also have several geeky pursuits...

Scifi and fantasy TV series are one big love. Webcomics another. I haven't had much opportunity to do table top gaming but I've enjoyed the little bit I've done. I would count myself fangirl: make of that what you will...

I'm looking for local friends, or online buddies.

(I'll leave this here for when I am looking to date:
A disclaimer upfront: I'm polyamorous. It's the love/relationship style that suits me. I do it with lots of communicating, honest informing and consent. I live with one girlfriend and have a long distance relationship as well (I hate long distance but the person in question is worth it!). You can go spy on their accounts: TeacupBalrog and Stelliferous.
What I’m doing with my life
Working as a support worker, and planning for postgrad as I'd like to train as a speech and language therapist. Otherwise watching a lot of netflix, reading webcomics and all that jazz.
I’m really good at
I would say I am compassionate/empathetic. Creative. Aspects of linguistics.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I'm fat- it's like having bright pink hair: kind of hard to miss. Also a bit like bright pink hair (I imagine... I've never actually dyed my hair) it's a part of myself I'm happy being bold and noticed in.

They probably notice that I'm friendly and enthusiastic if I feel comfortable, and maybe a bit shyer if I'm more out of my depth.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Ok I'll try and give you the shorter version.

Things like... Buffy the Vampire Slayer (and anything by Joss Whedon), Warehouse 13, Star Trek, Yes Minister, Community, Black Books, things with stephen fry, hugh laurie, tim minchin. Avatar (the last air bender), ouran highschool host club, kousuru boukun... erm, Hustle, Glee, White Collar, Orange is the new Black... Only reality tv show I watch is World's Strictest Parents. Some musicals like chicago, Wicked (saw it live, amazing!), Joseph and the Technicolor Dream Coat.

Couple of radio sit coms- Cabin Pressure, Old Harry's Game and Elvenquest.

Harry Potter is favourite childhood book, I grew up on the audio versions read by Stephen Fry.

I read a fair bit of fanfiction, predominantly slash. And I love webcomics, such as Sfeer Theory, Dumbing of Age, QC and Sorcery 101. I occasionally read an actual novel (all though equally occasionally I read a non fiction book).

Food I like probably chinese best- and also some japanese (more wagamama's, less sushi). Indian is good. Pizza/italian is acceptable.

Music is quite varied, some acoustic, some old rock, some jazz... not too much modern pop... some soundtracks.
The six things I could never do without
I think I'll go for the genuine if overused ones:

Loved ones
My cat
Geek Culture
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to love myself and others, how our culture works, the future... And, you know, kinky slash ships... obviously.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home with a cuppa and a new tv series or maybe with friends with a cuppa talking about... buffy the vampire slayer or something...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I guess that I'm still learning. And that learning takes effort.

Also that there's this whole thing where I'm going to take over your world in a bid to be the Overlord Emperor King of the universe?
You should message me if
You would like to chat! About anything! If you are also looking for a local friend.